We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant believe this isnt No 1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moustache et ses Filles

Moustache et ses Filles
37 Impasse des Rhododendrons, 74400 Chamonix, France
04 50 93 49 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 162 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
devon uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cant believe this isnt No 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Well, what a superb restaurant. We were recommended this place and I am so thankful we were. We had a set 3 course meal for 28 Euros per person and it was Amazing. Such a brilliant little find, we spent ages looking at the decor and old ski's around the place. Service was lovely ( we speak very very little French ) good value and a meal I will never forget.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    58
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have a home just across the "alley" from this new restaurant which replaced La Cantina. The convenience can't be beat! Some of the reviews say it is off the beaten path but it is actually in the heart of the central Chamonix (near the Benetton store). The view from the patio is amazing...Mont Blanc!

The menu includes many regional foods such as croute, tartiflette and such. I found the chef had a bit of a heavy hand on the cheese/cream page. The regional foods are rich but not that rich! My meal was delicious...chicken in an amazing sauce served with to die for potatoes gratin! The croute which my significant other had was a bit heavy on the cheese and cream. I'll dine there again but I hope the proprietor sorts out the appropriate prices for the food and backs off a bit on the cheese/cream ratio.

The food was good and the service was very friendly...the staff made me feel like family. The prices are a bit jumbled...some items are reasonably priced and some are way overpriced (the croute was 20 euros - hello, this dish is bread and cheese!

I think this restaurant is on the right path but a few minor adjustments are in order to make it a 5 star.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We came here first time before departing for the MTB, we liked it so much we returned again after completing the tour.
the soups are excellent and served in a very interesting manner. meat is of good quality and preperation is good.
had a great time and deffenately recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Charming & enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

A bit off the main drag but worth hunting out. Quirky and charming place with good quality local food and attentive, friendly service.

Glad we found it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best food I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

At my request, the waiter suggested the chicken and mushrooms, which he said was his favorite dish. Although I am not crazy about mushrooms and am tired of chicken, I decided to try it .... what a fabulous meal ! Chicken with , I think, chanterelles in a delicious but not too heavy cream sauce - with some delicious potatoes, thinly sliced and baked till tender/crisp - I will always think of that meal when I think of Chamonix. My husband and son both got the hamburgers, which they said were the best they ever had. Even the frites were memorable - puffy and crisp and full of flavor. We had all had enough to eat, but the main dishes had been so delicious that we decided to share a scrumptious dessert - a warm chocolate cake with a warm center - perfect !
We ate outside because of the beautiful evening. Casual patio atmosphere. Beautiful view of Mont Blanc. The owners' family/friends were in a corner relaxing and chatting - very nice, friendly yet private atmosphere.
This place is a little off the beaten path, but is still close to everything.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moustache et ses Filles also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Moustache et ses Filles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moustache et ses Filles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.