We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Richemond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Richemond to your Saves list
Hotel Richemond
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228, rue Docteur Paccard, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I would rarely give a 10 out of 10 but these guys deserve it! What an awesome stay. I've been all over Europe lately and this is def. in the top 3 hotels i've stayed. Staff were very help full and it was a clean tidy place, great views and great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    58
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
36
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

just come back from Richemond - stayed four nights - enjoyed our stay. Hotel very French, staff were friendly & helpful. Okay breakfast left a bit to be desired but adequate. located in a very central position, bus stop right behind hotel, plenty of cafes & restaurants in front to left & right of hotel. Cable car station very close and ski hire shop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel Richemond maybe 2 star but you get 5 star service . Staff excellent ,helpful ,breakfast simple French and plenty of it you can even make sandwiches for lunch. Decor a bit Agatha Cristie but very clean .rooms cleaned beds made every day. Central location to town ,50 m to bus stop. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here and paid 100 euros a night which is an absolute rip off
Here's why:

Dated and very basic, desperately needs some money spent on the place
Awful breakfast which is called "continental" I'm quite sure the French wouldn't eat what they served up.
No tea an coffee facilities in the room
There wasn't even a waste bin in the room
Uncomfortable bed and pillows
Reception lost our room key even though we handed it to them 10 mins prior, and apparently anyone can walk in and say "room 49" and they'll be handed a key. So I'd make sure you don't leave valuables in the room.
Only good thing about this hotel is location but overall I couldn't wait to leave the place.
It's a dump!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very dated hotel with holes in the wall, damaged carpets and damaged furniture.

Very weak security, no safety deposit box in roooms. Was asked to leave the key at reception at all times but when I came back one afternoon was told that they didnt have it and that we never handed it in. Knowing that I did i try to stressed the point. I asked if the key could have been given to someone else which I got a shrug. I made the point that as the reception staff changed regulaly, anyone could walk into the hotel and ask for a key and they would just hand it over which I got another shrug. In the end I searched in the key cabinet myself and it was there. Even though it was there fault I struggled to get an apology.

Lastly, the breakfast was very very poor. Continental breakfast usually has a selection of hams and cheeses. All they had was one type of cream cheese and garlic sausage ham - horrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely hotel lovely location.. and to top it all off lovely staff!
...We visited Chamonix with another couple and our two rooms were on the same floor but facing opposite sides of the building, and each very unique. I would describe the style as shabby-chic boutique; the decor quite obviously needs some TLC to patch it up in places, but it's vintage charm and picturesque setting means it gets away with it and actually feels quite fitting!
Breakfast was the same basic selection every day, but all the staples you need with numerous variations of ham/cheese/bread combinations to be had!! The BYO (boil-your-own) egg scenario was a bit of a bun fight every morning and could take some time if your weren't on guard to stop someone else walking off with your bounty - but the 2 minute walk to the bus stops to the slopes once you were out of the door in the morning soon helped you make some time back. The central positioning of the hotel did however mean it was slightly noisier on a night-time for the room on the front of the building, with people leaving the pubs all hours (note though this was a Christmas/New Years visit so in amidst all the big festive celebrations).
The hotel employees were friendly and colourful characters, who engaged well with their guests and were always more than happy to help where required. Most hospitable :)
All four of us had a lovely stay and would definitely not hesitate in recommending this place as being good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arriving at this beautiful hotel which is located a 2 minute walk from the Central Bus Stop, I was welcomed by a charming lady who spoke excellent English. She was not only very happy for me to practice my French with her, but she also gave me great advice about getting around in Chamonix (the busses are a NIGHTMARE here). Her father and brother also work in the hotel and are just as charming. The rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was always well stocked with good food. Wifi for the week (only €3) can be accessed in the warmth of the hotel lobby which is a lovely place to meet other people in the hotel. The rooms are secure and views are beautiful. It is a 5 minute walk from "Evolution 2" - an OUTSTANDING ski school which is competitively priced compared with ESF. My Evolution 2 instructor was "Regis" who was extremely professional and spoke excellent English (and happened to be the Director of this company). Evolution 2 can also arrange Husky Rides (Wednesdays) which was well worth the €70. All in all, an excellent week.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the town are quieter but it is not a noisy hotel, despite it's excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Richemond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richemond

Address: 228, rue Docteur Paccard, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Richemond 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Richemond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richemond Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Richemond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.