We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel across street from train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gustavia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gustavia Hotel to your Saves list
Gustavia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272, avenue Michel-Croz, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Mandeville, LA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel across street from train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is rated a 3 star hotel which I feel is appropriate. My 21 year old son and I caught a train to Chamonix for a ski trip and it is right across the street from the train station. Noise was not an issue, as the windows were very secure. There is a very busy bar on the first floor, but we hardly heard the noise/music from the 4th floor. A continental breakfast is available for 10 euros per day, which is a little pricey but not that bad, considering Chamonix. There is a free shuttle bus for skiers that is a 10-15 min walk from the hotel w/ your skis. They do have a ski locker behind the hotel. Our room was fairly small (ie, European) but comfortable w/ a hot shower. The location is ideal for walking into town to eat and shop, as it is next to the train station. The front desk personnel speak English and are very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room w/ a balcony facing the train station which was very nice. The view from the back is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    59
    19
    19
See reviews for
37
62
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived the place is nothing like what was on the website. Totally misrepresented. First room above really loud bar and second room after we asked to be moved had mould on the walls. Found another place to stay and they refused to give us a refund.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

No complains about this B&B, well located nearby Chamonix centre and SNCF rail station. Rooms and bathroom are very clean. Heating works quite well in winter, good breakfast buffet (quite appreciated before a long day in the slopes). Bottomline, not fancy but decent place to sleep comfortably while visiting the Chamonix ski area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Gustavia hotel over the Christmas period for a weeks skiing. We were not disappointed at all.

The service from check-in to check-out was 1st class, the staff were very friendly, especially the waiting staff. The rooms if a tad on the small side were very clean, well appointed & better than I have had on any other ski holiday.

The food was amazing. Breakfast was a typical continental buffet offering, serving cheese, ham, bread, cereals etc etc. The evening meals were amazing. 4 course a la carte, (set menu). If your a foodie, you will love the food on offer here. From starter to dessert, the food is simply gorgeous.

There is a bar on the ground floor which is very popular with residents & non residents. A live band played most nights, yes you could hear them if your room window was open, but generally you didn't. We were on the top (3rd floor). You could buy drinks there & take them through to the dining room to have with your evening meals should you choose to do so. We did a couple of times, but mostly ordered wine off the wine list in the dining room.

Location, the hotel is sited at a busy junction, right opposite the train & bus station. Our room to the front faced the stations. Sometimes you could hear buses tooting their horns etc, (we always have our window open), but the noise was no more than any other busy town.

The walk to the bus stop for most ski areas was roughly a 5 minute walk, the shops started a minute away from the hotel.

We are a 40 year old couple. The hotel ticked all our boxes & more. We definitely would go back again.

The only downside is that the ski store does not have boot warmers, but we took the boots upto the room & dried them on the vast cast iron radiator in the room. Also the lift was prone to breaking down, but as we never used it, it was never really a problem to us.

N Cini

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed 2 couples for 2 nights. Staff was very servicminded and helpful. The rooms are nice, what you can expect on a three star hotel. Breakfast was 10 Euro, and also ok. The hotel is ideal located in Chamonix center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got the room face the mountain with a terrace, the view is fantastic...The hotel offer wonderful access to the transportation,lifts,and town...Very helpful and friendly staffs...Room is very clean and cozy...Everything is worth the money you are paying for!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deshaies, Guadeloupe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel location is great, very central in midst of the impressive scenery of the french alps and near restaurants and bars.
All staff is smiling and welcoming.
The restaurant "Chambre 9" is cozy and authentical offering a various and well chosen menu. It is also a great place if you just want to share a drink with your friends.
I can really recommend this small and international hotel for your next visit to Chamonix!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gustavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustavia Hotel

Address: 272, avenue Michel-Croz, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gustavia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langley Hotel Gustavia is located in the heart of Chamonix at the foot of Mont-Blanc. This hotel has a wonderful and sporty atmosphere with a restaurant and a bar very famous for After skis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gustavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustavia Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gustavia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.