We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mountain Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Balcons Du Savoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Balcons Du Savoy to your Saves list
Les Balcons Du Savoy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179, rue Mummery, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Mountain Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were a family of two adults and two teenagers at the end of a three week trip moving constantly and this was a great retreat. Beautiful meadow and alps views, and fabulous amenities for preparing meals. Great to watch all the para-gliders from the balcony (which is a good size) Easy walk down to the village. Very comfortable beds and the trundle bed in the living room was easy to put away each morning. The indoor pool is OK, but would not get too excited about this amenity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    59
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
87
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a lovely holiday in Chamonix at these apartments. They are very clean, really good facilities, amazing views of Mount Blanc, only approx 5 mins to the centre and a very good supermarket and local shops. We are a couple in our 50s and it suited us perfectly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I recently stayed here. Booked a studio for 7 days. It was a nice spacious and well maintained property. The check in was smooth and my entire stay was very comfortable. Brief interactions with reception staff was very cordial and they all showed eagerness to help. Recommend highly and will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed here in July of 2013. The overall experience was great, as were the views of Mont Blanc and the paragliders landing in the morning. Wifi was off and on so was a bit frustrating during our 2 night stay. The apartment was very clean with all the amenities, including a fully equiped kitchen. Interestingly they expect you to do the dishes if you opt for the in-room breakfast service for 12 euros. Our room on the first floor did not have carpeting. Parking was included, although the garage spaces are very tight as was the garage itself which took some fine maneuvering to get in and out of. But hey, it was included in our price for the hotel with a guaranteed spot. They have an indoor pool which was nice after a long day. My only gripe is that the hotel's location is on the edge of the city, so if that is OK by you, no problem. It's not like it cannot be walked, however it is the edge of town. Overall experience was very nice in a very expensive town of Chamonix. My one last comment is that the staff should know more about things to do in Chamonix, they could not give specifics for even the biggest attriction which was the cable ride to the top of the mountain. I don't know if it was a "French" thing or just the staff that we dealt with.

Room Tip: Get the mountain view room for the extra 10 euros, I thought it was definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family stayed here on our vacation in the French Alps in late June. The property is perfectly situated for stunning views of Mont Blanc. We had a very spacious balcony, and the 3 room condo was also quite spacious, and very clean. The front desk was supremely helpful and kind. The walk to the village of Chamonix is an easy five minute walk- a walk that we would take slowly as it is so scenic and wonderful. We thought the price for the 3 nights that we stayed at Le Balcons du Savoy was quite fair and reasonable for the size of the condo, it's location and the time of year we were there. Highly recommend and would definitely go back! Almost forgot- there is a terrific family room with lots of games: pool table, air hockey table, fun arcade games, act!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed two nights during summer off ski season. It is an apartment located 5-10 minutes walk away from all the 'downtown' shops. I felt it is perfect location. Front desk speaks English, rooms were very clean, and staff was very willing to assist. What else can you ask for. Underground garage would be fantastic if this was winter. Only have two items for feedback that are fairly minor....keep pool open later for the kids (9pm is too early) and add a tv for the bedroom. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked a Studio room and was impressed with the size. It was very clean. All wood flooring and all wood closets. Lots of storage space. Great location. Has parking underground. We took our 2 dogs and it was pet friendly with a large pasture behind the hotel to take your dogs out to use the restroom.Flat screen TV with a few English channels. I took a star off because we were on the 5th floor on the corner and we had no Wifi in our room, so we had to go to the lobby to use the internet which was a big hassle for us.We also had a balcony and just wished there were better furniture to make use of the balcony, it was plastic chairs and table and were dirty. They have a drying rack on the balcony which was cool and a warmer for your clothes/towels in the bathroom.Another slight problem was there is no plugins in the bathroom and no mirrors outside of the bathroom so it was hard to dry your hair, my hairdryer could just barely reach the edge of the mirror in the bathroom so I could somewhat style my hair. The hairdryer provided in the bathroom was awful, it would take you 2 hours to dry your hair

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Address: 179, rue Mummery, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Balcons Du Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.