We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars doesn't justify the quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“3 stars doesn't justify the quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

For the price, quality, location and facilities this hotel would be very difficult to rival anywhere. The hotel itself is very modern and clean with a great on site restaurant and pool and spa facilities.

Its also within 10 minutes walking distance of the town centre, restaurants and tourist info. The rooms were fresh, clean and felt cosy and inviting.

A recommended excursion to do while you are in town is the Mer de Glace its amazing! just ask at the tourist info.

Thanks for ready

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    255
    70
    20
    9
See reviews for
114
300
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is an excellent hotel by ski resort standards. The location in Chamonix Sud is about a 5-10min walk to the town centre. However there are several good bars and restaurants close by. Chamonix is not a ski in - ski out resort and you need a car or to take the ski bus to reach the ski areas anyway so the location is not an issue. Rooms were on the small side but decor and bathrooms were nice and modern and it was well sound-proofed. The best things about the hotel are the communal areas. There is a comfortable bar with open fire, outside heated pool and hot tub and sauna and steam room. It was wonderful to sit in the hot tub and look out at the mountains beyond. Breakfast was plentiful although the buffet did get a bit chaotic and things were running out after 8.30am in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times already during winter season. It is located close to Aiguille du Midi cable car and approximately 5 minutes from the centre of Chamonix. Just across the street you can park your car, and there you will also find ski bus stop. The rooms were clean, but not very big (I'd say a typical French standard). The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool, which could be bigger. It gets crowded especially during the apres ski period. It also has sauna in a small building next to the swimming pool. It is usually not very hot, but after sauna you can cool down right next to it in the snow (if there's any).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business for 3 nights. It is a Best Western hotel, but you wouldn't think so if you walked in. I think it overclasses a regular best Western hotel. The netrance is warm and cozy due to the fireplace which is located in the bar. The staff is very nice and friendly. Rooms are a bit small, but when staying there, you mostly need the room for sleeping (you will be skiing or working all day anyway). Room and bathroom are clean and the rooms all have a balcony. The rooms facing the street are smaller than the ones facing the mountains (the other side of the hotel).
Breakfast is good and plenty of choice. If you have skis, they give you a key to the locker room in the basement and every room has its own locker!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed for the New Year vacation and really enjoyed it. The most pleasant thing for us was the friendly staff. They really made our trip very enjoyable addressing our numerous questions with smile and diligence. Thanks to Aza, Miguel, Ramina, Marjerie, Zara, Alona, Marlene, Antoine and others (sorry if I forgot anybody or misspelled) who were always happy to assist.

The hotel booked us a taxi for a lengthy trip and when they later discovered we were not happy with the service provided they took initiative to complain to the taxi company and negotiated a partial refund. We travel a lot but do not meet such devotion to services too often. Well done and keep up the standard!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our half board stay at this hotel. Clean comfortasble rooms. Beautiful view from balcony. Very comfortable bed.Warm cosy room with easy to use heating. Kettle in room for tea and coffee. Our 5 course dinner at night was very enjoyable with good variety over the seven nights we stayed. Some one mentioned getting bottled water but the tap water was as good as at home so why pay for bottled water. Even at dinner no one had bottled water. We were not skiing but found the hotel very convient for the free trains and buses to give us different options of things to do every day. We stayed middle of January which was very good value.

Room Tip: make sure you get the Guest Pass from the hotel fo get free train and bus travel in the region.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed at the Les Aiglons for 4 nights in January. I was travelling alone so booked a single room through Hotels.com (470 Euro) which certainly seemed very competitive for a 3 star hotel in the centre of Chamonix. The hotel is clean, tidy and my bedroom was spacious (the hotel kindly upgraded me to a double when I checked in). The bar area is nice to sit and have a drink or read being cosy with a lovely real fire burning. I had to pay extra for breakfast (c14 Euro) and it was ok with plenty of cereals, yogurt and fruit available along with croissants, fresh bread and you can make toast and boil your own eggs. Hot food was available but that's not my thing so cant comment. Tea, coffee and fruit juices were also offered.

All of the hotel staff were friendly, very helpful and provided good service. The hotel has an outdoor heated pool along with a jacuzzi which is a nice way to unwind after a day skiing along with huts which house a sauna and a hamman.

The hotel location is very good and the bus stop (you need to use the buses to reach all the ski areas unless you have a car) is literally on the other side of the road which is great from the front of the hotel. It is also only a 7 - 8 min walk into the centre of Chamonix. The hotel has a discount arrangement (20%) with the Skiloc shop (their prices are competitive with others I checked like Intersport but I think you will find cheaper if you book via the Internet prior to travelling) which is about 30 metres away so again convenient and the service was good.

I didn't eat in the hotel preferring to eat in town. I did try La Petite Kitchen (the top rated restaurant currently in Chamonix) and I can confirm that it was lovely. It's small with only a few tables, service was excellent and the food both fresh and very good - I would strongly recommend it (it's about a 12 min walk from the hotel). I also ate at L'Imprevu on Avenue Ravanel le Rouge and again it was a very friendly place with very good service (they looked after me as a single diner very well) and I recommend their goats cheese salad and raclette.

I hadn't realised that you needed to travel by bus to all the ski areas and although the buses run regularly they can be busy in the mornings and late afternoons. It was nice to ski different places each day and for a few days Chamonix (being only 70 mins from Geneva) is a good skiing destination. I booked my transfers through Cham Express and my experience was mixed. My pick up from the airport was excellent, someone to meet you as you emerged from customs and directed you on where to go and my lift pass was ready and waiting. However, .when returning I was picked up within my allotted times but my departure was quoted as 5pm - there were another 4 pick ups after me and we were still looking for a private address for a pick up at 5.50 !! We ended up not leaving Chamonix until almost 6pm and coupled with it busy at the tolls on the return I spent 3 hours on the minibus from the point I was picked up and came close to missing my flight (I am certain that one of those inboard would have missed her flight).

Overall a great weekend and I would recommend the Les Aiglons as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa

Address: 270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Aiglons Resort & Spa with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Aiglons Resort And Spa
Hotel Les Aiglons Chamonix
Best Western Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Aiglons Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.