We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sapiniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sapiniere
Save
You added La Sapiniere to your Saves list
102, rue Mummery, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Extraordinary value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I can endorse all the previous positive comments regarding the quality and choice of the food, the service and attentiveness of the staff and the ideal location of the hotel . As a summer visitor the other guests were mostly walkers like us and mostly fairly mature. The afternoon tea, the aperitifs/canapes and the different seating for dinner each night made for much more social interaction than is usual at a conventional hotel which enhanced the whole experience. Only the rather sparse and slightly shabby bedrooms reduced the score from Excellent.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a Mont Blanc view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    54
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here in March toward the end of the skiing season. I had a room on the front side of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the beginners skiing area. The first time I went into the room the view through the big glass doors on the veranda was breathtaking. The sun is on the veranda when you come back from skiing so perfect for chilling out before afternoon tea.

The food was of an excellent quality and the chef was very accommodating when it came to breakfast and was happy to cook something not on the menu. The staff were also very helpful and went out of the way to help you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here in late March for skiing. Staff were generally brilliant, food and choices were great. It's a bit out of the centre but a great value hotel compared to a lot of options in Chamonix. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself was in need of a make over. Very friendly staff in this hotel. Any queries and they did their best to answer. Rooms kept clean, in our case mainly by Harry, who left lovely little cards with quips. The food was marvellous and chef asked the guests their opinions on the food.
We had lovely view of,the surrounding mountains from our room, it was also easy to get to the cable cars, buses and railway station.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Sapiniere is a veritable treat and amazing value for money. As a single traveller I was made to feel welcome from the word go. The staff are wonderful and they went out of their way to ensure that I had the best holiday ever. The cuisine is top notch and as good as anything you will get in the top restaurants. The view of the French Alps from the hotel has to be the best you will find in Chamonix. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This chalet hotel in chamonix is wonderful the food was incredible like something from masterchef the staff very helpful and friendly the view over to mont blanc was breathtaking at anytime of day great value for money well positioned for all levels of walking

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley,East Riding of Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Understand the concept of Inghams chalet hotels and you will have the time of your life -. Fantastic value for money.

Food - excellent and plentiful . Breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea (home made -soup, biscuits, cake and finer sandwiches), 4 course dinner with aperitifs.

Hotel - adequate i.e. basic, very clean and comfortable. Could do with an injection of cash to bring it up to 2014 standards HOWEVER don't let this out you off. Prices could rise enormously if this happened.

Location - the best in town. Opposite the Savoy meadows with a back drop of Mont Blanc . location, location, location.

Staff- fantastic , young enthusiastic team. Unavoidably we arrived late at 11pm but were met by Becky the hotel manager and Ethan the talented chef who stood waiting to greet us outside the front door of the hotel. They carried our bags up to our top floor room and then despite the late hour offered to provide us with a 4 course meal. They set a table in the dinning room, candles, music , wine etc but we opted for a starter , cheese board and coffee. What a great welcome and the holiday just got better.

Finally, special mention to Jerome and Becky(reps) and Theresa (walking guide) what fabulous FUN you all are. True professionals .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 102, rue Mummery, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sapiniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.