We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Sapiniere Xmas 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sapiniere

Save Saved
You added La Sapiniere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sapiniere
102, rue Mummery, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 hotels in Chamonix
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“La Sapiniere Xmas 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

You cant fault this hotel.Its not your modern looking swish hotel and on first arriving you might think it looks a bit tired. However it is typically French and its in a great location in Chamonix. Really friendly staff (Sorry too many to mention) although I can remember Dan the barman (for some reason) Lovely atmosphere, small and sociable. The food was superb and I mean superb!!! Hotel is right on the nursery slopes although it has easy access to the Brevant gondola. You could walk to the gondola but why bother? the bus stop is right outside the hotel. Ski hire shop is just round the corner (2 minute walk) A short walk into the beautiful town will get you to the the main bus stop that takes you to the other slopes. We only went to Le Tour and Les Houches are about 20-25 mins drive.
We stayed over xmas with two sons (12&14) and had a great time.The rooms were warm and clean. Free wifi in the bar area meant a nice place to chill or chatter with other guest about our exploits that day.We had rooms 40 and 41 and we woke up every morning to breathtaking views of Mont Blanc (book these rooms if you can)
Only a couple of negatives. We did suggest to the staff that they displayed on reception if there were any slopes not open that day as we had traveled up to le Tour one day only to find it shut due to high winds. I think as we left they were starting to display piste details on the telly on the lounge.
Also, the ski room is a bit small for the size of the hotel and was a bit cramped in the mornings. it could also do with allocated ski/boot storage as a couple of times people were going out with other peoples boots/skis on. Do not let this put you off though and don't let it detract you from what is essentially a cracking hotel. We had a fantastic time. Great hotel, great staff, Great food, made some great friends and did some great skiing. All in all very good :)

Room Tip: We had 40 and 41 which had beautiful views of Mont Blanc (See picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    51
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went with my dad and 2 of my children - really great chalet hotel. The food was delicious, the staff friendly and welcoming and the view from my room was fabulous! The hotel location for the ski bus services and the nearest slope is excellent. The staff range from mad as hatters (Charlie!!) to really friendly and there wasn't a time that they didn't try and help with a smile on their faces - Charlotte Anderson even buying brown bread for my father. The food is of restaurant quality, not one bad dish and the pastry chef has a very light touch producing delicious deserts. the free wine is really good quality and flowed very freely!! We were even given a cooked breakfast on our departure day at 5.30 in the morning.
A slight moan is that I had thought that the ski school would be outside the hotel on the nursery slopes but it was, in fact, a 15 minute bus ride away. They collected from the hotel though so it was only the pick up that I had to do. I was glad I had 2 children to put on the bus as I would have been a bit more concerned sending one on his own. the Ski school was excellent although as we were in term time my 11 year old quickly moved beyond it and I ended up paying for a couple of private lessons and not getting a refund for the unused sessions - not unreasonable I guess but it would have been nice.

All in all an excellent chalet hotel with fabulous staff in a lovely resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a good view but the ones at the front have the most amazing view.The stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

From arrival at the resort, the staff couldn't do enough to help, wanting to carry your cases for you and showing you to your rooms.
The accommodation was clean throughout albeit a little tired in places. But you are there for the activities so as a family of three with another family we were all pleased with accommodation.
The meals were lovely (even accommodating our fussy kids with other options) with plenty of drinks and good wine. The waiting staff and barman were brill and always had time to talk with you even though they were always busy.
We had room 30 which is on the third floor with super views towards Mont Blanc and The Aguille Du Midi. I would highly recommend La Sapiniere. Thanks to all staff for making our holiday run smoothly, especially Dan the barman and Beth for keeping our room spotless and providing entertainment at dinner in the form of cutlery juggling!
Although I don't think we would be visiting Chamonix in the near future I would highly recommend the hotel and staff. The Dawns and Taylors. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a great week here at the start of January. While elements of the hotel are a little tired this is made up by the great team running the show. Food is excellent and the table arrangements allow for meeting new friends. Room 35 has a new bathroom which is very nice indeed. Make sure you know about the buses if you are coming to ski here as they are key to getting the most from your holiday - the stops are not too far from the hotel.

Well done - we'd come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home counties
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at La Sapiniere for a family holiday at the start of January.
The hotel is ideally situated looking out over the nursery slopes of Le Savoy and with amazing views of the mountains. It is only a few minutes walk into the centre of Chamonix.
The fabric of the hotel is quite tired. The carpets on the stairs are well worn and not all the doors fit that well.The bar is also too small for everyone to gather in.
However the staff of the hotel more than made up for any shortfalls elsewhere.As previous reviewers have said all the staff are young but unlike other tour staff and reps that we have encountered on previous holidays, they really work hard, are cheerful, chatty and helpful. Tommy and Helen , the managers, both deserve a special mention. They were courteous, professional and helpful, but also with a relaxed friendly attitude. As everyone else has said the food is excellent.

We had our two boys with us aged nine and eleven and did not book the ski school through Inghams as when we booked we had been told that the ski school Inghams were going to use was based in a different part of the resort. We used ESF- ecole de ski Francais which had a base on the Savoy slopes opposite the hotel. The instructors were excellent, all spoke English. There were only two nursery slopes so there may have been more practice areas over at Les Houches ( where the other kids with Inghams went) but as our kids were beginners this worked for us. It was also a cheaper option, although of course you have to sort this out yourselves. However for convenience and a slightly later start in the morning we were glad we chose it for our kids.

On a final note Chamonix was not perfect for us as there was not that many easy access green slopes for our kids to try out, but in fairness Chamonix does not market itself for our type of skier!

PS we had room nine which was on the top floor and had two separate spacious bedrooms and a bathroom which worked for us as a family.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a January family ski trip to Chamonix, staying at La Sapiniere.

My wife and I had room 3 overlooking Mont Blanc, the room was basic but had everything we think is important, comfy bed, decent bathroom and very hot water to soak those aching muscles at the end of the day. We had come to ski and explore the area not sit in the bedroom! We had a huge shared balcony and the rest of our party were next door which was fun, some sunny afternoons we did sit on the balcony soaking up the rays for an hour or so whilst my nephew made a snowman.

The food was nothing short of excellent. Breakfast was a cold buffet and a hot option which varied each day but was basically eggs various styles, bacon, sausage beans tomato. Porridge and hot crepes were also available daily and all this was more than enough to start you off for the day. Staff were always totally attentive to our requirements and went over and above in all their duties.

Afternoon tea was put out from 16:00 and you could have soup (beautiful home made soups, different every day) bread and cake of various types, unlimited hot drinks and home made biscuits.

The amazing evening meal started at 19:30 with canapés and drinks, different every night, followed by the mainl meal at 20:00 (you make your evening meal choices at breakfast). Children had the option of high tea (similar food served more simply) at 5.30pm and were thoroughly catered for, the chef even asked my nephew what his favourite veg were and cooked these accordingly.

The food really is five star exceptional quality. One day I had the best scallops I have ever tasted and another day a superb venison and I consider we have eaten in some excellent restaurants. I could continue heaping praise on the chef for all his dishes, we had pork, lamb, chicken and my wife quite often had the vegetarian option. These were followed by amazingly presented desserts, coffee and a cheese board if required. We cannot sing the praises of Mark, the (very young) very talented chef enough. The wine served at dinner was excellent, free and unlimited.

The hotel was staffed by two managers Tommy and Helen and a very hard working team of young people who just strive to, and succeed at, the incredibly difficult job of ensuring everyone has a great holiday. They were also very helpful with unlimited advice on buses ski runs etc, always smiling and very good with our young nephew and other children. I don't want to name them as I am frightened of missing anyone out but we thought they were all amazing. Unlike some hotels where young staff will do as little as possible, all these staff took their duties really seriously and cleaning really did mean cleaning and if this meant some of it got witnessed by the customers and took place at varying times I for one am thankful!!

One thing to be aware of is Ski School, our Travel Agent did not make clear that if you send your child to ski school this means putting your child (alone) on a minibus in the morning to Grand Montets and collecting them yourself. This was a surprise to us but luckily my six year old nephew is exceptionally outgoing and took this in his stride but I know other children who may have been not so happy about going off with a stranger in a minibus!! This is in no way a detrimental comment and if you book direct with Inghams this is probably fully explained but it wasn't to us via our agent. However he loved Panda Club and wants to go back again so don't be put off - just be aware!!

Also be aware that Chamonix is not the cheapest place to eat out or drink. The average price of a pint is 6 euros and a hot chocolate will set you back about 4 euros. An evening meal, just pizzas, a bit of garlic bread (no desserts) set us back £120 on the chefs night off! We should have studied a few more restaurant menus and could perhaps have had better food more reasonably priced elsewhere.

To sum up, we had an excellent holiday in a fantastic resort in a superb hotel. We could not fault any of it and will definitely return!

A huge thank you to all the staff and we hope you all do a second season so we can see you all again!!

Trevor & Janet Hiscock

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

First class service from all the very friendly helpful staff .Tommy and Helen lead a great team .the.hotel is situated across the road from a button lift which takes you up to the main gondola the food is excellent the choice of wines at dinner was good choice 2 red 2 white and plenty of it ? I had a fantastic week there . I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody. We are in our mid sixties and felt comfortable in our surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Address: 102, rue Mummery, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the best located hotel in Chamonix. The Savoy nursery slopes are literally just over the road from the hotel, from where the Savoy téléski lift whisks you up to the Brévent gondola, to access one of the best intermediate areas in the resort.Alternatively, the ski-bus to Chamonix's other ski areas stops just 50m away. The hotel's attractive dining room has semi-circular bay windows with stunning views of Mont Blanc. Here you will enjoy Inghams great choice of menus and complimentary quality wines for dinner. Inghams offer the conviviality of larger tables for chalet-style dining with your fellow guests, or the opportunity to dine à deux should you wish. The atmospheric lounge/bar welcomes you for your pre-dinner apéritif and canapés, or to relax after dinner over coffee and a night-cap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Sapiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Chamonix
La Sapiniere Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sapiniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.