We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return. A base camp with WiFi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Chaumiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Chaumiere to your Saves list
Hotel La Chaumiere
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   322 route des Gaillands, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Can't wait to return. A base camp with WiFi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

It's a place we strongly recommend to people looking for something special and personalized.
Also, it is remarkable the service of all the staff and we therefore advise it for the nice atmosphere we found. Food is five stars as everyday the cook is facing a challenge by the owners: make clients happy when they leave!!
Very happy and looking forward to come back.
Marco&Margherita

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

A simple , functional hotel. Good home cooked food . Not far from town centre although a little walk.
Friendly and informative owners but not fawning or in your face . Most important , when one of our party suffered an injury on the slopes they were very helpful and assisted with hospitals , chemists etc . Very important when one only has 25 year old O grade French !
Would definitely recommend the place !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Mario and Maria and their staff are the stars in this small family run hotel. Simple accomodation, delicious hearty evening meals - perfect after a day skiing . Close to train stop to take you to the slopes . Nothing was too much for Mario and Maria - both unfailing in their advice and assistance.

Excellent value for money highlighting the fact that we have been hideously ripped off by various VIP Chalet companies in previous years .

Would love to return .

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here for a week with 6 friends, great choice of skiing resorts which the hotel helped us to get there and assisted with ski hire. Friendly and cosy atmosphere in the hotel, the rooms are very charming.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Recently spent time at this hotel and had a great time. There was plenty of activities to get involved in, staff were always friendly and able to provide information or answer any questions. The provides transport to the slopes!

The rooms are clean and serve the purpose adequately, great views of mont blanc. There was a lovely breakfast buffet every morning and at the end of the day a 3 course meal that varied daily.

We felt it was nice to be able to relax in the cosy bar at the hotel if we didn't fancy the short walk into town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I came with a group of 3 friends beginning of January and we found our stay very enjoyable! The hotel is only 2 stars, which fairly speaking is not presenting itself to be luxurious, however it is perfect for a skiing holiday with its cosy, rustic charm. The bar instead of loud and irritating allowed us to relax over a beer after a long day skiing.
The rooms again are not always huge, but very comfortable and warm, with great views of Mont Blanc.
We also really enjoyed the home cooked food - (3 course meal every night) and plenty of variety.
All in all we were impressed with our stay, and if you're searching for nightlife, it's only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Chamonix! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Location a bit far for skiing base. Room was clean but very small and bathroom was even smaller, with shower space really limited and not convenient if you are above 1.8 m. Breakfast was nice enough but simple.

The negative title to this review comes from the fact that, when we booked last minute over the phone, we were charged 100 EUR/night (for two) which seemed high given the location and the standard of the hotel (we saw a 2-star in the center at 108 EUR/night). Besides, the official rate for peak season for a double bedroom for a stay of up to 3 nights was 80 EUR as shown at the reception. At the end of the stay, when I asked why we were charged 100 EUR/night, the lady seemed a bit embarrassed and, in the end, I managed to have 30 EUR back (i.e. a rate of 90 EUR/night). Besides the hotel had already charged the credit card for payment at the time of the reservation whereas normal practice is that they only take a guarantee at the time. The whole episode made us feel they had not treated us with honesty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0450531325, Propriétaire at Hotel La Chaumiere, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
The price on the back of the door is ' a partir de ' ( low season) ' baisse season ' 80€'... so it is not correct what you say. The price aplied was correct as it was high season. And in any case, we did refund a sum of money so it was hardly a' rip off'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chaumiere

Address: 322 route des Gaillands, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Chaumiere 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Lodge is a real mountain home offering a unique fusion of Scandinavian simplicity and functionality mixed with charming alpine style.La Chaumière is in an enviable location, within walking distance of the main shopping street, in the old town centre of Chamonix Mont-Blanc and just a stone's throw from the train and bus stop. When you stay at La Chaumière you are literally steps away from some of the world's finest mountaineering, skiing and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Chaumiere Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Chaumiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.