We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch spot with views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extreme Cafe

Extreme Cafe
21 place Balmat, 74400 Chamonix, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 171 Restaurants in Chamonix
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot with views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This little "self serve" cafe, is situated very centrally, with amazing views of Mont-Blanc, and also the surrounding square. Its a great place to just sit and take in the sights while having a bite and a drink. They serve a decent selection of sandwiches, wraps, paninis, salads and snacks, with coffees, and drinks. The owners are friendly, and speak French and English. Relatively good prices for Chamonix, I think. I didn't keep the bill, but I believe we spent about 6 Euros for a panini and about 3.5 or 4 Euros for a 0.5L beer.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had breakfast here several days on a row. They have good sandwiches and good coffee. Not much space indoors, so put on warm clothes if the weather is on the chilly side, which it was when we were there. Here you get a good breakfast for much less than in the hotel we stayed in. Typically 12 € for two, instead of 16 € per person in the hotel.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good spot average snacks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For a sandwich shop I was pretty surprised of its lack of breakfast options at 10am but in any case it was sunny and the large terrace was pretty inviting. Below par ingredients deliver below par results, unfortunately that was the case. Terrible bread (which is unforgivable for france!) and average coffee. The excellent view stopped a review of 1 star. Thankfully it's a town with a lot of dining options meaning I won't ever need to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's Extreme...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

All I want to say is… that when you live in an extreme town, in an extreme valley, after an extreme day of sports, all you really want is an extreme cup of coffee or an extreme crepe in an extreme location. I love this place. But mainly because its EXTREME!!! It really is though!!! xxx

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tea for relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent tea in center of chamonix,looking sunset over mont blanc.Also have sandwiches and caffes.If you are l9oking for relaxing after skiing come here,drink tea and enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Cafe also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Extreme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extreme Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.