We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super super super” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Grands Montets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Grands Montets to your Saves list
Hotel Les Grands Montets
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 chemin des Arberons | Argentière, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Super super super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Splendidly appointed hotel near the Grands Montets lifts in Argentiere (10 min walk into the village).
We arrived at this hotel, dusty, weary and very dirty after 8 days on the Tour de Mont Blanc. They didn't bat an eyelid, welcomed us in, to our large, clean, cosy room with ensuite and L'Occitane toiletries. The room had everything, fridge, large tv, mezzanine sleeping area for a little person (child), balcony and really comfy bed. Lots of storage room, shower and bath. The sort of hotel room that makes you sigh with relief and not want to leave!
But when you do - indoor pool (small but beautiful), gym, sauna, deck onto large tranquil garden, nice bar, cosy reading area, and a real plus for longer term travellers a washing room with dryer and iron that guests can use.
Breakfast was fantastic - plentiful and with lots of healthy options.
Service was very very good from polite and attentive bilingual staff.
Very much enjoyed our stay here and would come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the garden - views of the Aiguille du Midi and a shade quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGMontets, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear travellers,

First of all, thanks for the time you spent leaving this comment, and thank you as well for all the nice things about us and our hotel !

For us, that our guests feel comfortable and satisfied is a top concern, that's why reading this is a pleasure.

We hope to welcome you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    56
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
81
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent a night at the Hotel Les Grands Montets and it was one of our best hotel experiences anywhere in France. The room was large by European standards, and one wall was floor-to-ceiling glass, half of which slid open to a patio with mountain views. (There were also heavy blackout shades, so all the window area didn't impede our ability to sleep through sunrise.) But what we really enjoyed here were the amenities: The pool and spa area here is fantastic! We took full advantage of the indoor pool, the outdoor jacuzzi (with more mountain views), the sauna, and the steam room. We also spent some time at the bar enjoying drinks and snacks while we took in the views and watched some Tour de France highlights. If we had had more free time, the weight room and pool table also looked inviting. The hotel is clean and well-maintained. The public areas are especially nice. The staff we encountered were all very friendly, including the hotel's dog. The free Wi-Fi was also nice to have, and the breakfast spread was solid. The location is slightly out-of-the-way. It's right next to a major ski lift, but you do have to walk 5-10 minutes to get into Argentière's main street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGMontets, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you so much for your nice and detailed comments about our hotel, it is certainly helpful for other guests to come and undoubtedely pleasing to us !

All the staff say hello (even the dog :) ) and hope to welcome you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

this hotel was lovely and had a very relaxing atmosphere. i stayed here for a week of skiing and it was extremely close to the lifts up to the ski area which was nice to be able to walk out of the hotel and be on the slopes with in 5 minutes. the hotel staff were very helpful and we bought our ski passes from them they all spoke perfect english and went out of there way to make your stay here nothing less than easy and enjoyable. the breakfast was very nice and the view out over the snow made is a nice place to eat. the pool was nice and a good place to go after a long day of skiing. the rooms were spotless and well furnished they had lovely interior like the rest of the hotel. the bathroom was large and clean. overall this hotel was one of the nicest places i have stayed at in a long time and i will be coming back here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGMontets, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for the time you spent writing this comment and for the nice things about our hotel and staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for an amazing skiing experience !

All the staff of Les Grands Montets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great hotel experience! Staff were friendly and professional, and most could provide some service in English. Our room was gorgeous, with fun and modern decor, a sliding glass door to our own little private garden area, and a spotless, modern bathroom. The pool area was fantastic, with an indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs (with fantastic mountain views), and a sauna and steam room. The bar area was beautiful, with good and plentiful munchies at happy hour, and the best beer I've ever had (Edelweis)! Breakfast was also great, with extensive, high quality choices. The hotel does not serve dinner, but is just a few minutes walk to the town center, where there are several restaurant choices. I would definitely stay here again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGMontets, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Courtney,

Thanks a lot for the nice things you write about us and our hotel: that warms our heart !

We are more than happy that your time here was perfect, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again,

With friendliness,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

As stated is other reviews, the manager is a hawk eye in regards to what is going on in the hotel. Location is nice. Breakfast is lovely. This is a bonus in the area because most hotels charge 14 Euros. Room, pool area and outdoor sitting areas were pleasant. The only complaint was the bathroom in my quaint room. It had a 1970's bright orange sink area that did not match the decor and the soap dispensers (l'Occitane- nice) did not work. Both were odd for a 4 star hotel. All in all I would stay there again. By the way, the end of June/beginning of July the Lupines are blooming in the Chamonix Valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived staff could not have been more helpful. We got upgraded to a suite and the view is magnificent. The rooms are clean and very comfortable with attention to detail. Spa bath in room was very relaxing after sightseeing all day. Pool area was great with indoor spa and outdoor hot tub as well and very well equipped gym. The sun terrace is perfect to relax at the end of the day with a drink from the bar and look up over the mountains. Laundry very handy and even soap powder provided. Staff make the place. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet location 10 minutes walk away from the town and most of the restaurants, but only two or three minutes from the lift station. Dinner is not provided, but the hotel will recommend and book a restaurant for you. We found this worked very well, and the staff were willing to give personal and thoughtful recommendations about restaurants, not just mindless platitudes.

Generally we found the staff to be genuinely pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is gradually renewing the rooms. It is definitely worth paying the extra for the renovated Mountain Spirit rooms, which have been stylishly renovated in an attractive rustic manner. It is also worth paying for a mountain view if you are on the second floor, as the floor to ceiling windows give spectacular view down the valley to Mont Blanc. Having said that, the rooms are small as is typical in French mountain hotels.

Breakfast is fine but not outstanding.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will return when we next ski Argentiere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Grands Montets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Grands Montets

Address: 340 chemin des Arberons | Argentière, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Grands Montets 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Les Grands Montets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Grands Montets Hotel
Les Grands Montets Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Grands Montets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.