We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's better than average!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alpina Hotel to your Saves list
Alpina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Avenue du Mont-Blanc, 74404 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Hastings
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It's better than average!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a touring/ski hotel in the town centre. It is obviously quite popular and is a bit dated (70s/80s) but it all works ok! The rooms are a good size and most (at the front) appear to have balconies with good views. The restaurant is on the top floor - we only had breakfast but it was quite acceptable. It has a reasonably priced car park and the room tariff was not unreasonable.

Room Tip: Front, higher floor for best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    108
    114
    49
    22
See reviews for
58
132
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Perfect location here as it is steps away from everything . Rooms are reminiscent of the seventies. Given the price , we think it is bearable. However the wifi is absolutely horrible . Zero wifi network in the room . Only available in the lobby and yet once you get the password ,you have to login again again after a certain period of time . If you are desperately in need of wifi, do not stay in this hotel .

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel has fantastic veiws and is very well placed in chamonix.
The lounge and staff are friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was fine with plenty choices.
Unfortunatley that is were it ends
The rooms are dated and smell of dampness, the bathrooms are a vision of the seventies.
The rooms are sparce and are cheaply fitted out.
No way is this hotel a 3 star, 1-2 at the most.
The main starwell is reminiscent of a biulding site.
Its a shame, as this hotel is in such a perfect spot.
They obviousley make a lot of money, perhaps they could put some back in to up date the accommodation.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good veiws, however the higher up you are, the better the veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was there with a group of friends and booked 3 rooms in advance over the internet. At the check-in everything was fast and as requested, single beds for the rooms, for instance, and the employees were very friendly. I arrived with a van, which could be parked in front of the hotel for unloading of skiing gear and luggage, but I was afraid it could be too large for the parking garage. I got the very helpful advice that just 300m away there was an outdoor public parking, which was even for free. Just note, there is a height limit of 2m, probably to keep campers away.

The rooms were decent, larger than usually in France, I would say, ours on 4th floor had even 3 single beds. Spotless cleanliness, a fridge and separate rooms for toilet and bathroom (with a tub) provided us with all the necessary amenities. The beds were comfortable as well. And I should not forget to mention the great view of the mountains and of the market place from the balcony. Btw, the room was equipped with an electric jalousie, very effective.

The hotel has a spa area, which we did not tested but we enjoyed the lobby with fire place, pool tables, etc. Reasonably sized ski depot in the basement, you could even get locks for your skis, if you wanted, and I think you could also rent gear there.

We did not try the restaurant but some of us went for breakfast, which gets served at the same place, i.e. the top floor with a great view. The breakfast was really good, I particularly liked the option to get an omelette prepared according to your liking.

The location is just perfect. The hotel can be easily reached by car, parking opportunities are very close and the pedestrian area of Chamonix starts right on the other side of the street. A lot of good restaurants are nearby, I should mention especially La Maison Carrier and the Japanese restaurant Satsuki and at night the bars are also very close. Everything can be reached on foot with the exception of the lifts but a busstop is also very close to the hotel.

As a result we liked really everything of this hotel. If I ever come back to Chamonix I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on floors as high as possible to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Spent a week here. Room was a suite. Booked 3 months in advance. Got 1st floor of 6 as we arrived late. Was to have been met in Geneva upon arrival - no show by the hotel - upon arrival front desk advised they had no such notice but we had email saying otherwise, no apology or acknowledgement offered. Bed was other than comfortable. Plenty of blankets and pillows. Large wine stain mark on the worn out wall-to-wall carpet. Living room had 2 single beds put together at the head to form a couch and stools for chairs. Deck was decent. Bathroom was decent, no face clothes. Room lighting was dim. Power converters did not work for all our electronics (ie. toothbrush and laptop). WIFI internet available in lobby only. Meal plan was nice but after a few days of same breakfast found just went out. Dinners were ok, a fish option daily with 1 other protein as an alternative. Drinks with dinner (pop, milk, etc) were extra cost. requested taxi be booked for following morning when time to leave, no show. Requested a replacement taxi when scheduled taxi no showed as had a connection to train to make, replacement taxi a no show. My wife and I had to drag our luggage through the snow and walked to make the train. Found the chamber maids and restaurant staff trying to do their best (main language is FRENCH) while front desk staff were less than helpful. We had to arrange our own transport from Geneva after waiting for 5 hours following an 11 hour journey. On one evening the lobby leased for an art show, unfortunately my wife was in the lounge (off the lobby) and felt pushed out of the area by art patrons looking all around her space, despite having paid for a drink and enjoying some reading time by the fireplace. Hot tub in spa was cold one day, luke warm the next. Steam room was decent. I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

You can't beat the view from the balcony rooms here, and I think that's what you are paying for. It's at a great location and you can pay for a secure parking space under the hotel (I think this is limited though) and everything is within a short walking distance.

Although the bedrooms and bathrooms are a little dated and tired, they are immaculately clean. And they have everything you need. Possibly could have done with coffee facilities in the room, buts that's pretty minor.

Breakfast was a good continental selection, with good coffee. And a lovely view.

We visited out of season, which was really nice and quiet. I'm planning on visiting Chamonix again, and I will be using this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Address: 79 Avenue du Mont-Blanc, 74404 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.