We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promises, promises” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpina Hotel to your Saves list
Alpina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Avenue du Mont-Blanc, 74404 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Kayak Point WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Promises, promises”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

They said they had a pool, er, actually its 3 blocks down the street and it costs $6E per person. And it doesn't open until 10 AM and closes at 7PM. The breakfast buffet used dehydrated eggs for the scrambled eggs, and the dining room had filthy corners and edges. There is no air conditioning but the balcony allowed good ventilation if we opened the slider and put a shoe in the main entry door jamb to prop it open a bit.
Its noisy, but Its in a beautiful spot and the views are amazing. They were out of plug adapters so we bought one in town and fried our blow dryer. As a retired contractor, I enjoyed the home center store in the hotel's lower level. They have very different products than what is available here in the state's big box stores. There is also a grocery store down there to help stock up on snacks, water etc.. The best lasagna we have ever had was in the small Italian place on the hotel's lower level by the river. There is an underground parking garage just across the river that is VERY convenient, and on Saturdays the plaza on top hosts a great farmers market. Its a poorly kept Travelodge type of hotel and the staff had both good and poopy attitudes depending on the person. I hated the misleading nature of the advert and the draped do not close, but you have to use the metal roll up door that covers the patio glass to make it dark, even at night. Also, we discovered the hotel has extensive exterior hollow metal trim that will wake the dead during a hailstorm.

Room Tip: If you get a higher room on the 5th or 6th floor that faces Mt Blanc, your views will be awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    115
    124
    56
    27
See reviews for
65
140
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Firstly, the views. AMAZING. Every room has a mountain view and the top floor restaurant with its extensive windows, including in the roof, is worth the stay alone. Staff in reception and restaurant are very nice and good at their job; breakfast is self-service with excellent choice of hot and cold, lots of fresh fruit, unlimited tea/coffee and bakery goods. Our family room was spacious and well equipped with flatscreen TV and minibar (useful to keep our own drinks and snacks cool - we didn't buy any minibar items). Ample hanging room and drawers for all our clothes and other stuff. Balcony had two chairs for sitting and enjoying the jaw-dropping view. But as for the bathroom and separate toilet, oh dear! Wall tiles with brown geometric shapes were all the rage in the 1970s, but they now are not only dated but shabby, chipped and dirty in corners. The wc smelt bad all the time and space was so tight you had to shimmy round the side of the toilet bowl to be able to open and close the door. With the rest of the hotel at such a high standard, I am baffled why the toilet and bathroom were so crummy. The bath and toilet themselves were acceptably clean, it was the walls and floor and the dirt, cracks and smells that were so off-putting. Honestly, the rest of the hotel, and our room in it, are all really, really nice.

Room Tip: Hotel is L shaped. Outside rooms have balconies, inside rooms do not and are smaller, but ALL HAVE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had what was probably a basic room. It was clean and reasonably comfortable.
We arrived after a long journey and our room was not ready. Ok we thought we will have a coffee while we wait. There was nowhere in the hotel to get a drink. We were also to discover there were no facilities in the room. The bar does not open in the summer in the evening either.
We ate in the restaurant the 1st evening. Food was ok, not special and service was poor. Staff disinterested. Found other far superior places subsequently.
Hotel in good position, close to centre but away from noise. Views were stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Rooms are good...neat and clean..with simple décor. If you go to your balcony....its so beautiful, excellent view. Chamonix is a small town but a good place to go to glaciers. Very friendly hotel staff. Excellent food ...local and Indian both. Service is average.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were delighted to find this hotel on our way through to Italy. The views from our room, and the restaurant were stunning - Mont Blanc in all its glory. We had a decent sized bedroom and another room with a balcony, a toliet and a bathroom - all for 89 euros a night. The decor was a little faded, but the rooms were clean. Wifi was available for extra cost, as was secure underground parking. The breakfast was amazing. It was the perfect place to explore Chamonix, as very central.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluj napoca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

July 2013,

Normal room nothing fancy except for the view that is absolutely fantastic. If you consider as a bonus the events organized in the evening right in front of the hotel you'll find this hotel perfect as base camp to start your trip around Chamonix.
Service regarding... is within standards. Nothing beyond expectations.... but everything by the book.

Room Tip: If you don't take Mont Blanc view.... nothing. Take the Mont Blanc view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our ski club booked this hotel last season. It is a great location for getting to all the ski areas around Chamonix. We had breakfast and dinner included and the food was outstanding. The hotel staff was helpful and always pleasant and accommodating. The is a great bar with great live music on the weekend. You are close to the downtown area restaurants, shopping, Aiguille du Midi to start the Vallée Blanche and the train to Montenvers Mer de Glace.

On the weekend there is an open market on the square right outside the hotel, and the views from the hotel are fantastic.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Address: 79 Avenue du Mont-Blanc, 74404 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.