We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Mercure” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chamonix Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chamonix Centre to your Saves list
Mercure Chamonix Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39, rue des Allobroges, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not the best Mercure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed in many of the Mercure hotels throughout France - this one was the not the best.

We arrived, in was liking entering a huge station area. The staff were very helpful, when you could find them. Our room was okay, but have had better. There was a lot of noise from the hall as it is very long, also road noise.

We ate out in the town - overpriced and not very good.

Breakfast, hmm, okay, waitress wondering around with a jay cloth in her hand wiping down tables (crumbs to the floor, not into a small pan, not very hygenic!) the jay cloth appeared not to be rinsed between tables. It was left on one table when she went to do something else... not a good policy. I made the mistake of having the scrambled eggs - it should have been a warning when I saw that the egg dish had obviously been on the heater for a long time as the eggs at the bottom were baked brown - bad tummy all day, needed to stop in Italy and get some tablets. And, I have had food all over the world, this is the first time this has happened. There was a total indifference to the diners, I did want to say 'how far can you throw the plates before they break', why do they insist of banging clean plates down onto the buffet table. If they don't like the job, leave.

We had retired from running our own Chambres d'Hotes and to a high standard, from a hotel, I expect the same or even higher (if that were possible....)

This is an ideal place if you ski, and don't mind basic. There are signs all over telling you not to , skis, boots..... BUT, we will NOT stop there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    157
    61
    31
    16
See reviews for
128
166
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am very surprised by some of the poor reviews I have stayed here many times I also have had dealings with Emanuel (its his first name) and found him accommodating beyond expectations. The breakfast are excellent and have everything you could possibly imagine ( except Kippers but I was trying it on ) and were included in the room rate the room was spotless the minibar contents complimentary and the even the toiletries were complimentary. We have eaten in the restaurant several times before and this time the food was good but I did feel the menu was a little limited but what we had was good and reasonably priced but I do feel the wine list is too expensive

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the refurbished section of the main Hotel with a balcony, don't worry if its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I did not have a good experience with this Mercure hotel.
After a long trip I arrived at this hotel around 1:30pm (Sep/15). The room was not available until 4pm.
The following day when taking a shower to drive to Beaune (3 hours drive), the water simply stopped. No more water in the middle of the shower. I was completely soaped.
What to do?
I waited more than one hour but the water did not return.
I tried to find an explanation with the manager, but he was busy.
Mr. Emanuel, the lobby attendant, told me the manager would send me an email with an explanation. I am still waiting for his email.
The hotel rooms are fine with a good view, but I can not accept this kind of service.
I will not come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

first of all the stuff provide the accom for the other building, which we dont really like it. Then we ask for a change to the main building, the staff agree with that, in a very friendly way. Breakfast was really really good, to be frank in an amazing way. The room was very very tidy and luxury, good to recommend to everyone there, but not the other building's room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived quite late as we missed our bus from Annecy however all was well as the hotel is located only 30 metres from the Chamonix Mount-Blanc railway station. We were checked-in very professionally and efficiently. Our room was well presented, the bed was very comfortable, only a couple of things with the room that were not as expected. There was no fridge in the room (I am not sure if this is standard), the shower was not so good and the bath towels were frankly terrible (very small and thin). I did not make any comments to the staff as I felt my issues were not resolvable by them at the time.
The restaurant team both evening and breakfast were well trained and very polite. One bit of feedback at breakfast was the quality and presentation of the hot food was not up to standard compared to the rest of the buffet.
Overall the location of the hotel was excellent and every staff member we came into contact with were excellent, if they fixed their water pressure and had better quality bath towels the overall rating would have been higher. Go to Chamonix we loved it and it reminded us of Queenstown, NZ only much bigger!

Tip: Great location and check out the local bar - café across the road - Elevation 1604 they are also a great team with excellent service, food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chamonix Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Centre

Address: 39, rue des Allobroges, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#19 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the foot of the famous Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi mountains, right in the heart of the ski town of Chamonix and only a few steps from the railway station. The hotel offers a restaurant, a bar and a conference area. The hotel also offers evening entertainment (karaoke, seminars, shows) during the French winter school holidays. Undercover parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chamonix Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.