We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location and great boutique ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chamonix Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chamonix Centre to your Saves list
Mercure Chamonix Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39, rue des Allobroges, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome location and great boutique ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Cracking hotel for a short skiing trip, this hotel had everything we needed. Underground parking, great food and cosy well appointed rooms. The best thing about this place is the location though. It's bang central, next to train station and most happening bar in chamonix. Not too close to keep you awake at night though! If I had to raise a point to improve on is the checking in process took forever, six staff behind the reception counter and only one person checking guests in meant a long wait.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear travellers,

Your opinion matters: thus we thank you warmly for the time spent writing this comment.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and in our beautiful Chamonix. I notice that you could enjoy the hotel eqyuipments as well as Chamonix night life !

We also take in consideration your comment about check-in: it is indeed a busy period and our staff is asked to take time with every guest (trainees are also here to give advice, but don't do the check-ins, only the confirmed receptionists).

We wait for the pleasure to welcome you again,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    157
    62
    31
    16
See reviews for
128
166
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The place is good location in the city!no free shuttle as they advertise, at least 10 minutes walk to any bus stops(quiet fun in ski boots) The whole hotel smells of food, pancakes, burnt oil!I have never seen/smelled something like this before!the door was very hard to open, the lock didnt work properly! The room was cleaned nicely, but as they have carpets, you don't really feel it would be clean! Bathroom is quiet shabby, if you consider it was refurbished a year ago.....Staff is absolutely rude, not helpful! Paid 4.50 for a cappuccino which was a little long coffe and two spoon fools of foam!Anyway Chamonix is beautiful, worst to visit, but really expensive!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

After paying an inflated rate for a week during feb half term and being flippantly allocated a room that resembled a student crash pad over the road from the main hotel by a semi rude receptionist i was shock ed at the standard of poor service and accomodation On offer from this hotel. Do not expect anything other than basic over priced accommodation with poor service.

Another warning -at breakfast Do not ask for a cappuccino!!! - if you do - and the waiter brings you a milky cold sized espresso just smile and say 'merci ' as I made the mistake of telling him that a cappuccino is usually slightly larger than an espresso and he had a basil fawlty style fit at me with a tirade of French swear words I had not heard since secondary school, ha
If you have already booked bonne chance

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Your opinion matters, that's why we thank you for the time you spent writing about our hotel.

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize: it is not at all representative of our standards.

We hope to have the opportunity to gain back your trust during another stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect. Gorgeous views of the mountains and very quiet. The hotel was clean but there were minimal toiletries in the bathroom. The staff at the reception were rude and gave bad directions. Everytime we asked for help, they were either bad directions or they were not helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks for the time spent writing this comment: it helps us to keep our level of quality.

We are happy that you liked our beautiful mountains, and that you appreciated the location of our hotel.

We apologize if our staff did not manage to help you find you looked for in Chamonix. Be sure that we would improve this point.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Poor reception staffed by a 'out of state' girl who gave wrong direction, booked wrong restaurant and does not know the code to open the ski door from outside the hotel. Queue is long and she seemed to take forever to get things done. Nobody came to her help even when the waiting line is long.

Rooms are good sized but wifi erratic and unreliable, rooms are old with broken down fixtures etc.

Hotel location is good if you want to stay at the Chamonix town centre BUT it is extremely BAD if you go there for skiing as the walk to the ski bus stops is a distance away (500-750metre away) especially with poles, boots and skis on badly maintained icy pavements.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guests,

In the first place, thank you for your comment and the time you took writing it.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize about that. Our staff - even if busy in this high season period - takes good care of all our customers, spending time with everyone.
Be sure that we take your remarks into consideration to improve this in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity of winning back your trust during another trip in Chamonix,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix Mont Blanc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stay in many hotels and this was the worst reception service I have seen for a long time. Waiting time was long, staff seemed to think that was normal and service was indifferent when one finally got it. You really have to develop a process to have more staff available on reception when demand requires it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiarina R, Directeur général at Mercure Chamonix Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all, thank you for the time you spent writing a comment on your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that the service did not fully meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies. In spite of the fact that February is indeed a very busy period, we ask our staff to take time with every guest, maybe that's why you found that waiting at reception was too long.

Be assured that we would do our best to improve this point in the future, so as to meet our guests' expectations, including yours.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chamonix Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chamonix Centre

Address: 39, rue des Allobroges, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#20 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chamonix Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the foot of the famous Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi mountains, right in the heart of the ski town of Chamonix and only a few steps from the railway station. The hotel offers a restaurant, a bar and a conference area. The hotel also offers evening entertainment (karaoke, seminars, shows) during the French winter school holidays. Undercover parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Chamonix Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel Chamonix
Accor Chamonix Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chamonix Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.