We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Town & Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Chantel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Chantel
Save
You added Chalet Chantel to your Saves list
391 rte. des Pecles, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Town & Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at Chalet Chantel in early July. The owners made us extremely welcome and were very knowledgeable about Chamonix and the surrounding area. Great view of Mont Blanc from the hotel. The hotel is on a quiet residential street a few minutes walk from Chamonix town centre. Thoroughly recommend both Chalet Chantel and Chamonix.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have visited the Chantel a few times and it is always a pleasure. The location could not be better, stunning views of the Aiguille du Midi and Mont Blanc, 5 minutes walk to the centre of Chamonix, but quiet enough if you would like some peace and quiet.
The chalet is a traditionally styled Chamonix building, with very comfortable bedrooms, good bathrooms, large dining and sitting room, again with that amazing view.
I stayed in winter and the food was excellent, Marie and Nigel the owners have a habit of finding good chefs, and excellent hosts to make sure you are well looked after.
And with the lifts to the slopes, Nigel's local knowledge on where to get the best snow and places for lunch everything couldn't be simpler. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an amazing view as those not facing Mont Blanc face Brevent which would be prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend and couldn't have found a more perfect place in Chamonix! A cosy chalet full of character with views overlooking Mt Blanc, Aiguille du Midi and the glacier des bossons. Watching this impressive scenery sitting in the jacuzzi with the sun setting is simply priceless. Nigel and Marie are wonderful hosts, they really care about you having the best time and take care of your every needs (quick-drop off to catch telecabine), cravings (delicious cake waiting for you on the table, coffee/tea always available), special requests (early breakfast for early ski departure), everything is met with a smile and you just feel so spoiled. Chalet conveniently located 5mins from city centre. Quiet area and great bed make for a real good night sleep too. The only problem is that you don't feel like leaving when departure time has come. Very recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a week at Chalet Chantel and from start to finish it was a pleasure. We have had quite a bit of experience working and visiting the Alps from budget to luxury accommodation and chantel Chantel is one of the best we have had the pleasure to visit. Chamonix is a strange resort to ski in being so spread out with skiing ranging from the crazy of the Valley Blanch to the placid slopes of Le Tour and a lot of trecking around on busses to get to all the 5 different areas. However we struck gold with the chalet. Cham Van let us down by making us wait 3 hours at Geneva but even though we got in at 11:50pm Nigel (owner) and Louise (star chef) was on hand to offer some hot food, wine and one of the warmest arrivals we have had the pleasure of experiencing. Each day after breakfast we would be taken to our chosen start point with no questions asked just informative advice and after charging round the slopes a quick text would secure a prompt pick up. The Chalet is lovely plenty of space, every evening meal we had was amazing and was exactly what was needed after a day on the slopes, the hot tub had one of the best views up Mont Blanc I've ever had from a hot tub and to make it better was one of the cleanest I've been in, especially in a ski resort. Rooms are perfectly adequate, top floor is more suited for the vertically challenged, we were fine and even thought there were a couple of little ones staying in the chalet we only heard them when we wanted to. The only negative comments I would have would be the distance from the slopes (brilliant for Cham Sud though) and the fact that the chalet baguettes were not shop bought but par cooked ones finished in the chalet, when in France surely a French baguette isn't much to ask. Other than that we just want to say a massive thank you to Louise, Tomak, Nigel and Marie thank you for making our relatively expensive holiday brilliant value for money and very memorable. :-))

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent a wonderful week at Chalet Chantel. It is a quick walk to the center of Chamonix. The rooms are simple, warm, clean and comfortable. Not only does Louise the chef prepare swell meals, she always seems to have some nice goodies sitting on the table whenever you visit the main room and does a great job acommodating dietary restrictions. Tomek on the staff seems to handle every task needed to keep the house looking nice and you comfortable. They both do a great job and are always asking what else they can do for you. Owners Nigel and Marie are incredible. I've never met more pleasant and accommodating hosts. They seem to know everything there is to know about the town and its attractions and go completely out of their way to assure you have an enjoyable and trouble free visit. I can't say enough positive and complementary things about how they made our stay a great visit. Oh did I mention... Nigel ensures that you never run out of wine at dinner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The chalet is lovely - spacious rooms, loads of character and a fire in the wood-burning stove every evening. My bedroom was large and the bed very comfortable, with perhaps the best duvet I've slept under. The view of Mont Blanc and glaciers is truly something you could never tire of.

The location is a 10-minute walk from the busy (car free) town centre but doesn't offer easy access to the slopes (long walk and bus drive - this being the nature of skiing in Chamonix). However, this is overcome by Nigel dropping you off at whichever ski area you want in the morning and then picking you up again in the evening. This flexible service is superb and makes the whole 'skiing in Chamonix' experience workable.

Louise cooked for us and every meal was a contender for Masterchef (and the daily home-made cakes were also lovely) - thank you Louise. Nigel and Marie are super hosts and offer a perfect base for your holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great time at Chalet Chantel last year and we are now about to book a winter holiday there. This was the view from our bedroom window as the sun was setting over Mont Blanc and the Glacier, how spectacular! We cannot wait to return, Marie and Nigel were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the chalet is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Chantel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chantel

Address: 391 rte. des Pecles, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Short walk to Chamonix town, 1 hour drive from Geneva airport. Hot Tub Spa, Free wireless internet access throughout chalet, 7 double/twin bedrooms all with private bathroom/shower room, 8th bedroom available in conjunction with bedroom 1. Spectacular views of Mont Blanc and the Glacier, South facing terrace, balconies and garden, Cosy lounge with open log fire, Triple aspect dining room with stunning views of Mont Blanc Ample free private parking. Warm & welcoming hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Chantel Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Chantel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.