We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bed i ever slept in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Morgane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Morgane to your Saves list
Le Morgane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 avenue de l'Aiguille du Midi, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
hellevoetsluis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“best bed i ever slept in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

perfect hotel, great atmosphere.
bed was great, spa was perfect.
view from the hot tub was fantastic, (mont blanc)
room was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    152
    40
    9
    3
See reviews for
72
220
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Just there for one night but it was very comfortable, well-appointed and friendly. The restaurant is a 1 star Michelin and I had a lovely dinner, one of the tasting menus. The wine list is also excellent and well priced. The house Champagne was Diebolt-Vallois Blanc de Blancs and absolutely delicious. So much so I had two glasses because it was my birthday!
It was a last minute reservation as I was on my way to a wedding in Burgundy and had a day to spare. Good choice. I did not get time to use the fitness centre unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

A fabulous find in Chamonix . Great friendly warm service. Loved the location. Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed three nights.
Very helpful front desk staff.
Room was a large family room, very new with a big, gleaming bathroom!
Location cannot be beat. A 1 minuter walk to the cable car station and a 3 minute walk into town.
Parking was free and secure
Breakfast was great.
Recommend highly

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Very nice interior accommodations and centrally located, but the best was the overall service and doing more than required. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Chamonix and the Alps. We walked with our bags from the train station and were given a warm reception by the desk personnel. Our room was upgraded because I had requested a shower, and the room was beautiful. Free wifi, and safe. The petit dejuner is expensive (as is the restaurant) but coffee was good and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Really loved this place,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were on our honeymoon and travelled here for 4 nights and 5 days. Since we went in May which it turns out is their low season, there were some hotels we looked into that were not open. However, Le Morgane was at the top of our list even before we knew that. We were just researching all of our options. In any case, Le Morgane was open when the others were not so it narrowed down our choice fairly easily. We were surprised that this place was a Best Western because in the U.S., it seems that Best Westerns aren't known to be luxurious. However, Le Morgane is indeed luxurious. We conversed with Tiphaine via email as we were booking the room and she was extremely responsive and very helpful in answering all of our questions.

From the moment we checked in, we were impressed by the service. Frederic checked us in and he knew English, which was crucial for us since we knew mostly "Hello" and "Do you speak English" in French and that's about it. He was super helpful and friendly throughout our stay. He escorted us up to our room and showed us around. They upgraded us to a junior suite since it was our honeymoon, which was unexpected but definitely appreciated. They also sent up a split of champagne and a deck of playing cards in a neat little zipped pouch with a personal note thanking us for staying with them. These little details were unnecessary but very much appreciated.

The room was extremely clean and felt very modern (but not in one of those overly-modern sort of weirdly decorated ways). The bathroom was somewhat small but we didn't see huge bathrooms anywhere we stayed in France. In any case, the bathroom was very nice, the shower was great and we just took our time getting ready in the morning so we never had to crowd each other in the bathroom.

The lobby was also very modern looking and clean. Lots of sitting areas, which we hadn't seen in Paris, so that was kind of nice. The restaurant was great. We never ate there for anything other than breakfast because it was included and we wanted to try other restaurants in the area. The dinner menu seemed a bit pricey but they touted a lot of accolades for their food, so I'm sure it was delicious. Their breakfast was great - typical baguette and other bread products for France, cheeses, yogurts, jams, fruit and juice. Plus they had scrambled eggs for the more "American" types. :) Everything was very fresh and the service was always attentive. Their cafe au laits were equally delicious. Also, if you wanted you could have them deliver breakfast as room service for you free of charge.

We had drinks a couple times there as well and they make a mean cosmopolitan. The lounge area is very relaxing.

There is a spa that we did not use, but down by the spa is a heated pool, steam room and sauna. No hot tub, which was a bummer, but we got over it. We used everything else and again, everything was very clean and well kept.

Our balcony faced Mont Blanc and Aguille du Midi, which was awesome! Though we were on one of the main roads, it was not noisy at all with the doors shut. This might be different during high season, but we had no issues with noise.

The hotel also offers free bikes to check out and ride around town with. They have locks included so you don't have to worry about anything. We thoroughly enjoyed riding around and getting a look at all corners of the town one day.

They seem very earth conscious as well, which we appreciate. There is a trash bin in the room that has separate bins for recyclables. The room necessitates one of the plastic card keys to be inserted into a slot right when you walk in for the electricity to work. This is great for not being wasteful since you can leave on some lights and just pull out the card as you walk out so the electricity isn't going while you're not there. And then when you walk back in you just put the card back in and voila, lights. Also, the hallway lights go out after some time and there are little switches all along the walls to turn them back on when going to the elevator. This is nice since most of the time hallways are lit with no one in them.

We were taking a bus in the late afternoon of the day we checked out. However since our room was not going to be used that night, they allowed us to check out as late as we liked without being charged. So we were able to walk around the town during the day and then return to our room to change, freshen up, etc. before checking out around 3. Again, unnecessary but very much appreciated.

In the high seasons this place is probably busier so maybe it's a completely different feel but we loved it while were there. We spoke to Frederic as we were checking out about being there during ski season and he mentioned that there are other places that allow folks to ski right off the trails to their hotels. This place is not one of those places but is so well-situated in the midst of great restaurants and cafes that we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Morgane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Morgane

Address: 145 avenue de l'Aiguille du Midi, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chamonix
#5 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#21 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Morgane 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the heart of Chamonix and at the foot step of the Aiguille du Midi cable car, Le Morgane combines the elegance of a 4 **** hotel with the relaxed, sporting mood of Chamonix offering a breathtaking view of the surrounding mythical peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Morgane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Morgane Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Morgane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.