We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Hameau Albert 1er

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Hameau Albert 1er to your Saves list
Le Hameau Albert 1er
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 route du Bouchet | bp 55, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Chamonix
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Le Hameau Albert 1er in their suite "3" Aug/Sept 2013 for 7 days. It had a large bedroom with a sitting area, along with a small day bed. There was a stocked mini bar that was re-filled every day, a jet bathtub, an updated shower, small area to hang up technical gear and 2 closets.
This suite is located in the building with the heated pool and the spa. The staff was friendly and helpful (we are not fluent in French) and provided us very good care.
We dined at both of their restaurants and were very pleased. We had breakfast in the dining room every morning. It was roughly $30.00 per person for the buffet. It was a bit weak (breads, jams, yogurt) but it was convenient. The spa was average. My husband and I both had massages and were disappointed but it was not terrible.
Overall we had a wonderful experience and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for luxury mixed together with lots of charm!

Room Tip: We stayed in suite "3" a wonderful room..everything was updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the best place we stayed on our recent trip in the Alps region of France. Beautiful room, spectacular views from our room, great pool facility. Also loved the breakfast before going out on a days hike. The staff at the desk was very helpful at recommending hikes, restaurants in town, and even directions to Geneva (our next stop). I would love to come back in the winter!

Room Tip: I think any of the views high up in the main hotel will provide an excellent view of the town and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

One of the best restaurant experiences ever! Old school French service with great Maître D and outstanding sommelier Christian Martray, in fact all the people working there try to make your stay as perfect as possible. The cooking is really world class, we had langoustines, duck liver and great poularde de Bresse stuffed with truffels. All this accompanied with local wines from Savoie of outstanding value for money. The sweets were heavenly good as was our staying at the hotel. It is not the cheapest experience but if you have a special moment to share, go there! Chamonix is a marvellous place, the scenery is dominated by the Mont Blanc, just impressive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything about the meal we had was excellent from the greeting at the door to the pre dinner drinks, the attentiveness and knowledge of the staff and of course the presenatation, quality and taste of the food - and all the little extras thrown in. Excellent. My seond visit and will be going back every time i revisit Chamonix be it for skiing or sumemr activities...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The restaurants are excellent, the service is great, the view is stupendous and even the weather was perfect. A choice location with a nice pool & spa in the heart of the alps. Great view from our spacious & private balcony. Really the only thing I would fault was the lack of internet access - no wifi at all in the public spaces, and very slow & cumbersome in the rooms. And it is quite pricey; I'd expect better services.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had lunch in their restaurant with friends; four of us. We chose the set meal; €24 each.
The starter is buffet style - plenty of choice. Main course a la carte. Selection of desserts to die for; again buffet style, help yourself (as often as you like!) We then had coffee and petit fours in the garden. Beautiful flowers. It was July, very hot and we ate outside.
OK not cheap. €200 for the four of us incl. three (relatively small) carafes of wine, water and coffee, but as a one-off the service is excellent, views outstanding, and although in the centre of Chamonix, it was very quiet sat outside.

Room Tip: Make sure you book; very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem, Belgium
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Hameau Albert 1er has an impressive view on the Mont Blanc mountains, as has every other house, hotel and restaurant in Chamonix. It adds to that spacious and well equiped suites (at least if you book a room in La Ferme) around an indoor/outdoor swimming pool and two restaurants, one of which even having two Michelin stars, although it's not even worth one, alas. Definitely stay in this hotel, but look for food in the center of Chamonix, were a brasserie as L'Atmosphère has a lot more flavour to offer, right above the wild mountain river Arve that intersects the city.

Other minuses are the limited breakfasts, the lack of airconditioning (hot days are scarce over there, but when they come, they are REALLY hot), and a small welcome attention (some fresh fruit, a glass of champagne,...), as you have in other five star hotels, would have been appreciated.

On the plus side is the friendly service, the free underground parking (hardly used by most of the guests, strangely enough), the astonishing views on the snowy mountains from your balcony at La Ferme (be sure to book a room over there, NOT in the main building!), the central location at walking distance from most of Chamonix and its must-see sites (the carfree shopping area, the cableway to the 3800 m high Aiguille du Midi, the funicular railway to the Montenvers glacier, the parapente landing area,...).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in La Ferme! And prefer 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Hameau Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Hameau Albert 1er

Address: 38 route du Bouchet | bp 55, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#14 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Hameau Albert 1er 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of mont Blanc, Pierre Carrier, Perrine and Grand Chef Pierre Maillet have taken over this hotel, devoted to exceptional cuisine and local delicacies, founded in 1903 by 'great grandfather Carrier'. The rooms in the main hotel or the chalets in the garden offer both modern and warm comfort. On the one hand, there is the superb menu at the Albert 1er with its elaborate recipes influenced by the Piedmont and Liguria and, on the other, the Maison Carrier restaurant with its specilaities to be enjoyed in the atmosphere of an old farmhouse or on the terrace while gazing out at the majestic beauty of mont Blanc. The indoor/outdoor swimming pool also boasts views of the eternal snows on the roof of Europe. An equally stunning and delicious address for winter or summer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Hameau Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hameau Albert 1er Hotel Chamonix
Le Hameau Albert 1er Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Hameau Albert 1er, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.