We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice , good location. Nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prieure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prieure to your Saves list
Hotel Prieure
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 allee du Recteur Payot, 74404 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice , good location. Nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, centrally located. Bit small rooms. Pooltable. Nearby busstation. Helpfull staff. Good breakfast. Stayed for four days. Was great weather,. And nice village . Car can be parked in garge, but you have to be handy in parking otherwise parking nearby is possible for 24 hrs otherwise in parkingstation

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    103
    45
    24
    11
See reviews for
32
76
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Hotel is very well-situated, and is just two minutes away from the centre of Chamonix.

The Hotel is quiet, and there is no noise disturbance.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and most have a great view of Mont Blanc, with a balcony to relax on.

The breakfasts were good and certainly wholesome.

Definitely fair value for money.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel as part of an Insight Vacations tour.
The Hotel is a bit on the old side and did not have a restaurant or bar operating when we stayed there. I do not know if they are closed for good or not.
The room was average in size and the bed and pillows were quite good. Clean and tidy is how you would describe this Hotel. Then came the views. We all had rooms with a view of Mont Blanc and what a view!!!!!
Generally a very nice Hotel which I would love to stay in again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here with an Road Scholar group on a fall walking trip and found is quite satisfactory. Rooms were comfortable, not spanking new, but didn't need to be. Food was good, staff obliging and the location was excellent. And the view was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The big plus at this three-star hotel is the sensational view from the balcony (worth the supplement we paid). Secondly the location is ideal - easy walking distance to the free public transport and the town centre, without actually have to put up with noisy bars.

We stayed here for 14 nights in August as part of an Inghams package and found it to be good value for money. The food in the restaurant is good, but not gourmet, and the choice OK providing you don't have specific requirements. (Some dishes were very good.) Breakfast is a self-service continental buffet with a good range of items, but the coffee could be better. On restaurant closed evenings you are given a voucher to have your meal elsewhere. We were not keen on this restaurant which can be very busy and where both food and service can be indifferent. (We actually opted to pay for our own meal elsewhere rather than eat there on our final evening.)

Our room was clean and the linen changed frequently although, as others have mentioned, the decor has seen better days. We found the staff to be approachable and helpful - particularly when at the end of our holiday when our taxi failed to pick us up - thanks to them we made it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Mt Blanc view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for seven nights on half board with Inghams. We found the cleanliness of the hotel was not good. The carpet in the room we had had large areas of staining which were obvious. The bathroom which at first appeared clean on a better look all the flat wooden surfaces were dust laden, however we noticed later in the week that the extractor fan intake was half blocked with dust. The dinners at the hotel were a choice from the fixed menu for starter and main with a cheese buffet and a desert buffet. The starter and main were very good, however the cheese buffet seemed to be limited and never varied. The dessert buffet always had a flan which never varied with either crème caramel or crème Brule and occasionally fruit salad if you were quick enough. We were surprised to find that on the Sunday morning that the restaurant would be closed that night, on asking the reception staff we were told that we would receive a voucher for a local restaurant for dinner which was a ten minute walk from the hotel in the centre of the resort. This restaurant is part of the same group as the hotel and was worth the walk and food was to very high standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a tour for 1 night. Our tour director was informed of the condition of the hotel and she called it in to headquarters in Europe. The bathroom was dirty, toilet seat was chipped, dirty grout in entire bathroom, chuck of grout missing out of tub, MOLD in bathroom, absolutely no toiletries were provided. Condition of bathroom in general was dirty. I asked the front desk for a bar of soap, they replied they have none and to use the squeeze bottle in the bathroom. The front desk was extremely rude and unhelpful. The bedspread was DIRTY, bed linens were stained, towels were see through and thread bear. The walls were so thin we could hear everything in the next room including blowing noses and going to the bathroom. The mattress was like a brick, we both woke up with numb hands. Not to mention the dips, and holes in the mattress. The only thing this hotel had going for it was it was a few blocks walk to the few streets in the main town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prieure

Address: 149 allee du Recteur Payot, 74404 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prieure 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prieure Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prieure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.