We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, but it takes much more time than 20 minutes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguille du Midi

Aiguille du Midi
100 Place de l'Aiguille du Midi, 74400 Chamonix, France
04 50 53 22 75
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by...
Ranked #2 of 21 Attractions in Chamonix
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Mountaineering, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At nearly 13,000 feet, this mountain in eastern France, next to the towering Mount Blanc, provides some great skiing in its own right.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, but it takes much more time than 20 minutes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to add to previous recommendations, but bear in minds that it's about 50 min in total for each direction and you will have to wait more than 2 hours before you will be able to go down. So, we paid at 11:30 and got back at 17:30

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    186
    32
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We took the cham van from our hotel in geneva and my #1 tip is get there early! Also when taking the cable car to the top try to be first in your car because if you are stuck in the middle they the trip to the top is spoiled. We just waited until it was full and went first in the next one.

Also if you are going to do anything else (like the mer de glass) buy the multipass because its the most cost efficient. I tried to buy them ahead of time online but the site was down so I just bought them there. Since we got there early there was no line but the line gets busy later on.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'll admit I had a bit of a job convincing my husband that we had to do this. At just over $100US to take the trip up to Aiguille du Midi and continue over to Pointe Helbronner on the Italian border, it's not cheap. But do not miss this if you have good weather in Chamonix. It is truly one of the most breathtaking and beautiful sights I have ever had the pleasure to experience. We dressed in layers--fleece, windbreakers, and gloves and hats are not bad items to have along, especially if it's even a little breezy. On July 13, the temperature at the summit was 33 degrees F. Don't forget your sunglasses either. LOTS of snow and ice.

If it's a clear morning, hustle your bustle over and buy tickets early before the car and busloads of tourists arrive. We got on the cable car at 7:30 a.m. with a few tourists, but mostly climbers. The ride is steep and quick up to the halfway point, Plan de l'Aiguille, where you must exit and switch to the next cable car. Of course, you can stop at this point and hike a bit, but that's better done on your way back down. As one of the first groups up that day, there was no line for the elevator up to the top level of the Aiguille. Once you arrive at Aiguille du Midi, you will be blown away by the view of the Alps above you, and the valley below. The steepness of the drop off the platform may bother some who have a fear of heights--this would be a challenge for those!--but you haven't seen the best yet.

Hurry to the elevator that takes you up through the rock to the top of the Aiguille, just below the missile-like structure at the summit. Later in the morning the wait here can be over an hour. There are no stairs to the top. From here you will see an amazing panorama of rock and ice. There are several maps of summits to show you what's what. Inside again, don't miss the mountaineering museum. You can buy souvenirs, snacks and drinks inside also.

You can buy tickets to continue over the glacier to Pointe Helbronner and back--we didn't stop, but just made the turn and came back to Aiguille du Midi--about a 40 minute traverse of some of the most amazing landscape. The Aiguille is excellent, but DON'T SKIP POINTE HELBRONNER!

There is NO hiking from Aiguille du Midi, unless you are equipped with crampons and ice axe. There are several trails leaving from the Plan de l'Aiguille that make for a nice walk with beautiful views of Chamonix and the ridge of peaks across the valley. Worth the stop.

I wouldn't probably bother with this trip at all if it's overcast. Watch the weather carefully.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth the scary ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

While the Gondala ride was far one of the most terrifying experiences I have ever had it was worth it when we made it to the top. Amazing views of the top of the world at 16,000 feet. Take a hike off the beaten path and you will find true beauty.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, Ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Can't Miss Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great trip to the viewing platforms and advise anyone not to miss this. Views are unmatched and watching people just climb over areas of the platform dressed in their climbing gear to scale the rocks was unbelievable. I wish we would have had the time and the gear to hike further up onto the mountain. It was very warm in Chamonix, but we were glad we had our lightweight down sweaters at the top.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aiguille du Midi also viewed

 

Been to Aiguille du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguille du Midi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.