We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguille du Midi

Aiguille du Midi
100 Place de l'Aiguille du Midi, Chamonix, France
04 50 53 00 24
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 33 attractions in Chamonix
Type: Mountains
Activities: Mountaineering, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At nearly 13,000 feet, this mountain in eastern France, next to the towering Mount Blanc, provides some great skiing in its own right.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awsome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent trip, not to be missed! Beware taking small children up as they will most likely experience breathing difficulties. Be sure to wander around all the tunnels, there are other lifts and viewing platforms to explore.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    115
    19
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Over the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The panorama is stunning, while you ascend by the Téléférique: you get to more than 3800 mt, and can walk around the peak of the Aguille. White in white, it seems you can fly, and at your feet you see the valley of Chamonix

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to take the kids up to Aiguille De Midi on a beautiful clear day this May. All I can say is wow what a trip, I hate heights but after semi conquering my fears I stepped on the cable car and climbed to the very top. The views were amazing and the experience of being so high up was truely sensational. I would recommend this to anyone, my daughter aged now 3 loved being there and when we came down we could not stop talking about our experience.

it was alittle expensive, but as a trip i would do it again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heraklion
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You must pay 50E to get the telecabin .I cannot describe what you will see. It's absolutely amazing the hole view of the mountains.You can go anywhere for ski but THE Aiguille de Midi is only here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Amazing ride up the mountain from Chamonix via the Telepherique (cablecar) to L'Aiguille du Midi, perched on a granite spire below the summit of Mont Blanc. The views are stunning. The entire North Western Alps are visible, including the distinctive Matterhorn in the distance. You can look down into Italy, and North to Switzerland and Germany. The icefields for two glaciers are below, leading to their seracs or jagged icefalls and the glaciers flowing down the mountains. The range North of Mont Blanc is called L’Aguille Rouges because of the colour of the granite, and it looks a little surreal with the reddish glow to the rock faces.

Skiers are heading down totally precipitous chutes that look suicidal from above, as well as traversing the gentler icefields. Paragliders appear and find thermals rising up from the darker woodlands beside the glacier.

L’Aguille du Midi itself is a granite spire where the cablecar terminates and with the usual coffee shop and viewing platforms, but incredibly, inside a huge granite boulder sitting on top, a small museum and a 40m high elevator to another viewing platform and spire on top.
Luckily it was a brilliant clear sunny and calm day, and this could make all the difference to your experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aiguille du Midi also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Aiguille du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguille du Midi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.