We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient place to stay with good food and great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Lanchers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Lanchers to your Saves list
Hotel Les Lanchers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1459, route des Praz, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€75 (EUR)
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dundee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A convenient place to stay with good food and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice both times for a short skiing vacation. The hotel is a short walkt o the ski lift and ski rental places. It's a bit out of Chamonix itself (nice 20 min walk along stream or 5 min free bus ride). If you don't want to walk the bus stop is right outside the hotel or another one 100 meters away for a different bus line. Les Praz is a quiet area but very close to the bustle of Chamonix and close to a ski lift (2 min walk with ski boots). The buses also take you to the other ski areas in the valley.

The hotel food is delicious and convenient after a long day of skiing. The hotel has a drying room and a convenient area to store skis, snowshoes, etc by the door.
The newer part had more modern rooms, but even the older part has nice clean rooms with good views. The older rooms are "european" sized.

The hotel staff was very friendly (helping celebrate a friends birthday with cake), helpful and accomodated our needs.
Had a lovely vacation with friends and would go back again.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are bigger and more modern looking. Views good from all rooms. Even rooms to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    63
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
78
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed here twice both times for a short skiing holiday.
The hotel is a short transfer from Geneva airport (we used mountain pick ups for the transfer). The location of the hotel is a little bit out of Chamonix itself but a short walk to the flegere ski lift. Busses around the local are free, either with a hotel card or with your lift pass and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.
The hotel bar is welcoming and friendly and the area of les praz has a lovely community feel that seems to centre on the hotel. There is a good ski hire shop next door to the hotel, a couple of other ski hire places and kit shops and a newsagent so all your skiing needs are catered for locally.The hotel has a drying room and a convenient staore for skis etc by the door.
We had a "superior" room this second time and it was worth the upgrade. Good bathroom, amazing views, clean and fresh decor furnishings and towels etc.
Best thing about the hotel is the staff ... all very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
Had a lovely holiday and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our party of four stayed Friday 8th Feb to Wednesday 13th Feb 2013. We have all travelled extensively on business and for pleasure and have a broad range of experience on hotels in many countries.

We all thought the hotel was excellent. It stood out for a number of reasons. In summary:
- Friendly, efficient and helpful staff really are a major credit.

- Quick and efficient check in and out . We turned up a little early and there wasn't even a delay in getting our room.

- Great quiet location, and a 4 min walk to get the cable car to access two domains (Flegere, which connects to Brevant), and a short (circa 15 mins) bus trip to get to Montets and Balme (le Tour). My room had a view of the mountains but the other did not, so maybe ask when booking if you want a view.

- Everything worked in the rooms , which were modern and tastfully decorated. Excellent power shower and bath. The radiators were very efficient and responsve. Rooms cleaned daily.

- We ate in the restaurant on two nights and found the food very tasty, a good range, great service and without the massive price tag of some of the places in Chamonix.

- Tasty continental breakfast all dealt with very efficiently each morning.The staff make sure it is all organised but without getting in any guests way. Not an easy skill to master! (Note, the breakfast is an additional charge)

- Great ski facilities of a dry room, board/ski room, facility to shower and change if like us you go out on the slopes on the last day after checking out. Theer was always space to stire your stuff.

Note, it is about a 20 min walk into the centre of Chamonix along a foot path by the river. We found this fine. There are buses instead of course but check the times as they are not very regular in the evenings across the whole of Chamonix.

I would recommend Les Lanchers to anyone wanting a relaxing and pleasant stay in a ski resort.

Note, if you are expecting 5 star hotel facilities (Jacuzzi, Spa treatments etc), then you will need to pay 5 star prices. Les Lanchers remains excellent value for money if like us you want to enjoy a ski/boarding trip without spending a fortune.

Note, not a fault but an FYI, the single beds in the twin rooms are in my view quite narrow. I still slept well every night though, despite muscle aches from snowboarding hard each day.

Tim

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our second visit to Chamonix and second time at the Les Lanchers Hotel - the first time was wonderful and the second was even better with updated rooms and fabulous meals. Staff is supurb! Close to chair lift, bus, areas to walk on an adventure and showshoeing. Will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYDNEY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My review is written as an English skier on a four day break to the area with a small group adults. Les Lanchers is a nice hotel with reasonable rates for the area. The staff, Patrick and his colleagues, were extremely helpful and very courteous at all times. The hotel is conveniently sited for the lift to the Flegere ski area, the ski busses stop immediately outside to link to the other Cham ski areas. There's a convenient ski hire place next to the car park, they are also English speaking (because they're English), helpful and friendly - although prone to a little absentmindedness...and the rates weren't eye watering. If you enjoy sport there's a constant stream of Sky Sports and Eurosport on TV in the public areas of the hotel - a definite plus for our party but not necessarily for everyone I would imagine. The restaurant was OK for an evening meal and although the menu was a little unadventurous the food was pretty good on the whole. The breakfast arrangements need looking at though! 9 Euros was just too expensive for what was on offer. The buffet format was OK but the table arrangements meant diners were often cramped for room next to people accessing buffet. (You could try the KitchInn at Les Houches for a proper start to the day). La Praz is a quiet village and the hotel would be, in my opinion, ideal for family groups. There's not much going on if you like your aprés ski though so it's necessary to drive down the road if you want a night out in Chamonix centre. DO NOT TAXI - it's cheaper to buy an aircraft carrier and fly one of its jets there via Baghdad! Or walk - 25 mins. Overall - no real complaints except the niggle over breakfast. Our stay was pretty relaxed and the hotel is, convenient, friendly and clean with decent facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A lovely, welcoming hotel. Spent the new year in Chamonix and had the good fortune to be at Les Lanchers. Excellent location right by the Flegere lift with great views.
Incredibly welcoming, attentive staff who all spoke perfect English. There was a relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel but standards are clearly high
Had tartiflette on several occasions whilst in Chamonix, but the restaurant at Les Lanchers served the best one by a considerable margin.
Les Praz itself is a very nice village about 15/20 minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix and five minutes on the very frequent bus service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Les Lanchers for 2 nights. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and because of its location close to the Flegere lift.

The Room:
We booked a Superior Room. Upon booking on the hotel's website, a friendly gentleman called the next morning to explain how to get into the hotel since we weren't arriving until after midnight. The process was simple and straightforward. The Superior Rooms have great wide bathtubs, which are perfect to soak in after a long day of skiing. There was also a lot of closet space, heated towel racks, and a comfortable bed. There wasn't really any complimentary toiletries (aside from shampoo), so bring your own. The towels were large and plush. The free internet worked well.

The location:
The hotel is located about 400 metres from the Flegere cable car which takes you up to the the top of the mountain for skiing. We rented our skis from Echobase, which was just next door to the hotel. They offer 15% off for hotel guests.

Restaurant:
We were lazy and decided to stay in to eat. We were not disappointed and the lamb shank and french onion soup were excellent. The breakfast (which cost EUR 9 per person) was okay but not amazing. It was suitable for a meal before skiing.

Overall, we were very happy that we picked this hotel. If you are looking for a hotel close to the slopes, this is your answer.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms have large bathtubs for soaking. The area is generally quiet so you shouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Lanchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Lanchers

Address: 1459, route des Praz, 74400 Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Lanchers 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated near the cable car for access to the ski slopes in winter and walking/biking trails in summer, we have 19 comfortable ensuite bedrooms accessed by an elevator. Our lounge bar offers a cosy place to relax after a sporty day in the mountains and to perhaps be tempted by the classic french cooking of our head chef, Thierry and his team, in our Restaurant Rendezvous. The hotel has a sauna, drying room and ski storage with free wi-fi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Les Lanchers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Lanchers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.