We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Carrier

La Maison Carrier
38 route du Bouchet, 74402 Chamonix, France
04 50 53 00 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 171 Restaurants in Chamonix
Price range: $37 - $148
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a lovely evening here with my husband. Both had the set menu which was very reasonable price. I had home made black pudding to start which was delicious and then beef fillet with truffle mash which was also very good. The cheese board as you would expect was fabulous and then there was a selction of deserts from a buffet which was anice touch. The service was good and very friendly and overall very good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    93
    25
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jan E”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great reception and exceptional service even when my daughter had to leave mid meal as her baby was crying. The food was excellent and desserts delicious----a lovely meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very charming! Excellent food and very attentive service. Small quaint dinning areas, local sayorad cuisine . Very warm and a fabulous experience !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent choice (and choose your own wine) !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a great dinner and opted for the Christmas menu (foie gras, lamb, cheese and ridiculously yummy desserts) and an excellent St. Emilion Chateau Bellevue. Don't hesitate to visit this place, it's great. Do avoid the Maitre d'O, who tried to upsell in an uninspiring way some expensive wine.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE AND LOVELY SETTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

In September we had 8 days spent in the Chaminox region. We had some very casual meals and also wanted some that were a bit special. La Maison Carrier certainly was in the special class. Most of us had the set menu but my husband chose from the A LA Carte. The set menu was E29 for 3 courses. We especially loved "Grandmother's Tarts" which in reality was a dessert buffet full of wonderful french pastries and desserts. This is a Restaurant that you can dress up a little for. The wonderful open fire and friendly staff made this a lovely evening. Thanks Jon for recommending it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison Carrier also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to La Maison Carrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Carrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.