We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jekyll - quality and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jekyll

The Jekyll
71, Route des Pelerins, 74400 Chamonix, France
+33 4 50 55 99 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 162 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Gastropub, French, International, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A lively Bar with a fantastic restaurant makes The Jekyll an experience not to be missed. Situated near to the main bus stop and car park in Cham Sud, The Jekyll is the perfect venue for apres ski drinks offering great happy hour deals from 4pm and live music most nights. From 6.30pm The Jekyll turns into a restaurant well known for its superb hearty reasonable food. After dinner the music is turned up with sounds of live music and The Jekyll becomes a late night party venue for all.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Jekyll - quality and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I went to the Jekyll a number of times during my week in Chamonix. The food was great and there was always a friendly and lively atmosphere - the comedy nights in particular are fantastic. The food was always great quality without the massive price tag that you see in so many places in Chamonix - I highly recommend this place for an apres ski drink or a quality evening meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    68
    18
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lovely pub in Chamonix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a great place for apres ski. Food is excellent, the staff very efficient and good fun. Great value for money..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great food and a great atmosphere with live music and great beer.
Shots were a tad expensive at 4 euros each but were still good

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good grub, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We live in Chamonix, and when we arrived, we kept hearing about this place and decided we should check it out. We arrived in the summer and found the place purely by accident while walking through the back of Chamonix Sud, by the Aiguille du Midi. We purused the menu and headed in, keen for burgers. Expecting to have to roll out our practised French, it was a little like stepping back into the uk - the staff were English, greeted us in English and asked us what we would like. We were a bit stumped as we were sure we were in France! Despite this small confusion for us, the staff were super friendly and we ordered from the burger menu. I had the Hyde Burger (the spicy one!). It was amazing! And I've since been back and ordered it over and over, never disappointed!

We have also been to The Jekyll for our Christmas dinner, which also didn't disappoint.

The drinks are a tad pricey, but this is Chamonix - drinks everywhere are expensive!

But the staff are a credit to the establishment, and the food is fantastic and you'll never leave hungry. Chris, Jo and Kim are ace, and if you're in Chamonix for a week or a few days and don't want to go overboard on the fancy fous gras, and don't fancy dressing up for dinner, you need to go here.

If you fancy a challenge, there is the Ghetto Burger - a huge burger meal that if you finish all of, you get a free pint. Look out for the chilli sauce! That's what'll get you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great comedy night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A group of us came here to hit up the comedy night. A small place with a lovely feel and jovial atmosphere, the drinks were not too badly priced and the service was fine. The comedy night was held upstairs in a small area which made the whole thing feel very personal (and the heckling even better!). One to try.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jekyll also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to The Jekyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jekyll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.