We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than I expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jekyll

The Jekyll
71, Route des Pelerins, 74400 Chamonix, France
+33 4 50 55 99 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 162 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Gastropub, French, International, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A lively Bar with a fantastic restaurant makes The Jekyll an experience not to be missed. Situated near to the main bus stop and car park in Cham Sud, The Jekyll is the perfect venue for apres ski drinks offering great happy hour deals from 4pm and live music most nights. From 6.30pm The Jekyll turns into a restaurant well known for its superb hearty reasonable food. After dinner the music is turned up with sounds of live music and The Jekyll becomes a late night party venue for all.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Way better than I expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went here to get a quick bite to eat and a beer. It had a great atmosphere and the food was delicious. Staff were lovely as well

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    68
    18
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had our Christmas lunch here this year - I have never eaten out before on christmas day but I was not dissapointed! Really friendly staff and good service and the food was great! Ok, it was not cordon bleu cookery but great size portions, plenty of choice and really tasty for the price it is fantastic..... we wanted to go back for another meal but missed out because this restuarant wasnt open at luchtime when we called in for another meal..... Definitely try this place you wont be dissapointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved this bar and ended up visiting on both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

On Christmas Eve we had dinner there and we both really enjoyed it.

The guys behind the bar are great fun and try to get everyone involved.

We would definately return if were in Chamonix.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“2 great evenings at Jekyll...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

4 of us dined here on Christmas eve (we had pre booked), and had a fantastic night! We ate classic 'gastro' pub food such as chicken burgers, ribs, steak and chicken wrapped in pancetta and we were all very pleased with our choices. 2 of us had the chocolate fondue for dessert which was brilliant!
We sat in the 'attic' type section, which had slight views of downstairs and the band, however a member of staff informed us that we could move to an empty table downstairs if we wished as the band was about to start..this we thought was thoughtful of them and we took up their offer.
On arrival downstairs at our new table we were presented with complimentary shots from the owner...very nice shots though! They tasted like apple strudel..again this was a nice touch.
The band were fantastic - just what everyone needed on Christmas eve! The created a great atmosphere, and by the end of the night, there were lots of people singing along and up dancing (even on the tables at some points!). However if you didn't want the bustle of the band, there were still areas to go to such as at the back of the bar and also downstairs there is a small snug to sit in.

We ended up dining here later in our stay and again were very impressed! One of us tried the 'burger challenge' and succeeded which earned him a free beer! There was a band on this night who were again great, but we weren't having a late one that night so went home a little earlier.

Overall I would definitely recommend this place for great food, drinks and an overall great night! It can be a little tricky to find if you don't know your way around Chamonix, but keep searching, it really is worth it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Jekyll at Christmas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've been going to The Jekyll for several years, usually around Christmas. Typically I've gone with a group of friends and family looking for some decent food and good, live music; and typically I've not been let down. Sadly this year (winter, 2012) standards have slipped, the food was not great (similar menu to previous years, but not as well cooked), and the "entertainment" was poor. It started late and consisted of a young guy, just arrived in France, very nervous and with a musical line-up that was not suited to the location. I cannot fault the hospitality of the guys behind the bar, they were good enough to give us some drinks on the house, but would really appreciate it if they can do something with the food and perhaps get someone else to help out the poor musician !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jekyll also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to The Jekyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jekyll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.