We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fer a Cheval

Le Fer a Cheval
25, Place du Poilu, 74400 Chamonix, France
0450538020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 171 Restaurants in Chamonix
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location with varied menu, Filet de Perche is excellent.Good environment.Worth a visit.
Excellent for lunch and dinner

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    70
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place is nice, the staff really friendly, but apart from my onion soup which was delicious, sadly the rest of our meal was only ok. Slightly bland steaks, uninspiring carpaccio, minuscule chèvre and unseasoned perch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hmm, strange one, this.

We'd seen this place when we were across the road at La Petite Kitchen on New Year's Eve so, when looking for somewhere to eat tonight, we looked up the Trip Advisor reviews and gave it a go.

We arrived just after 7 where the really friendly staff asked if we had a reservation. We didn't but they accommodated our party of 5 at a nice table near the bar. Although the place was quite empty at the time, it soon filled up and people were being turned away at the door; if you are going to go, I'd advise you to book.

So, then, to the food. Plenty of choice on the menu along with a plat du jour and children's menu options.

Between us we ordered the charcuterie plate, the carpaccio, the onion soup and the goat cheese tart.

Everything was good apart from the tart which our friend wasn't too impressed with - essentially a small square of slightly singed puff pastry with a slice of tomato and a chunk of cheese. Nicely dressed salad though. I had the carpaccio which was ok although not really very tasty.

Next, the mains. My wife and I had the sirloin steak, both blue, one of our friends also had a medium sirloin, another the perch and our daughter had the steak hache.

My steak was really just ok. Nicely presented but just ok.

Without going into detail of everyone's dish, the best word to describe the food is 'ok'.

The place is lovely, staff friendly, wine and food reasonably priced and well presented but, at the end of the day it's what it tastes like that really matters and that's where it falls down.

There are better places to eat in Chamonix but there are also many more worse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Not worth a return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Our party of five ate here in a Thursday evening. All looked promising when we got a table without a reservation even though the place was due to be packed out. Sure enough, all tables were full within 20 minutes and they were turning people away.
The food really disappointed me though....goat's cheese tart was a square of puff pastry with a round of goats cheese on....burnt pastry and tiny! Steak main was at best reasonable.
Others in the party had onion soup...just ok, carpaccio....bland, charcuterie....ok.
Tiramisu dessert was nice, as was the tarte tatin.
There are far far nicer places in Chamonix.......I'd give this one a miss next time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“High quality and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We liked the look of the restaurant, and walked in to find it was booked out - always a good sign. Not to be deterred, we made a booking for the next night - another full house, this time including us. The four of us selected different things from the menu and shared a bottle and a half of wine. All good. A very enjoyable night.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fer a Cheval also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Fer a Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fer a Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.