We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cham-WOW... we are coming back if they will have us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Blanche

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Blanche
Save
You added Chalet Blanche to your Saves list
75, Chemin des Vourzes, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“Cham-WOW... we are coming back if they will have us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of being able to stay at Chalet Blanche in early June 2011.

After reading all of the positive reviews on TripAdvisor I was very happy that Debbie could accommodate us… from my first email to Debbie, I found her pleasant and welcoming. She patiently answered my questions and (when asked) made suggestions.

Chalet Blanche was our first stop on our vacation to the Alps… on our way in to Chamonix we encountered a bit of a problem with the Mt. Blanc Express train and Alastair literally came to our rescue! We are now life-long fans of Al! Debbie and Alastair continued to go out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful vacation. These owners are professionals who really understand hospitality…. All we had to do was ask, and they did their best to please us.

Chalet Blanche’s accommodations are impressive. The chalet is large; besides the many bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms; there is a TV room, a living room with fireplace and a guest kitchenette. There is also a large dining area and a full sized kitchen downstairs. There is a nice garden/yard with outside seating and a hot tub. All this with incredible views of a glacier and even the peak of the Aiguille du Midi! There is a washer/dryer at the guest’s disposal and a computer for guest use. Another huge plus is the free wifi!

I found the chalet very clean and well appointed. I also liked the calmness of the chalet as the rooms are well insulated… when you are in your room you really don’t hear the other people in the chalet. Our corner-room on the second floor (first floor in Europe) opened up to an outside balcony and we had two wonderful, yet different, views from our windows; one of the Glacier des Bossons from our balcony and from our window a view facing the Le Brévent lift. The location of the chalet is good, located in a quiet neighborhood that is just a 10-minute, sauntering walk outside the town center. Even though the train station is close, if you arrive by train Al picks you up and/or drops you off at the Gare when you leave… what a treat!

We stayed at Chalet Blanche in the summer time, so our accommodations were bed and breakfast. The breakfast was generous with choices of cereals, juices, yogurt, fruit, bread/pastries and meats. Debbie and/or Al will also cook you eggs to your liking. They provided us with sandwich makings and encouraged us to take some fruit to go with our pack lunch. Our hosts especially took this opportunity to spend time conversing with their guests; I found them both sincere and engaging… and their suggestions (when asked) for daily activities and places to eat were very good and most appreciated. They really helped us get the most out of our days with them in Chamonix!

Things we did in Chamonix:
· The train du Montenvers to the Mer de Glace
· Telepherique de l'Aiguille du Midi and then on to Hellbronner Point by Gondola
· Walking the river trail to Argentière (beautiful!)
· Shopped around town
· Serendipitously happening upon our own private organ “concert” by the organist at St. Michel’s church while he was practicing for Sunday Mass.

Restaurants we liked in Chamonix:
· L’Impossible (Italian)
· Jekyl and Hyde
· La Potiniere (local food)
· (Note) Petit Casino is the local grocery store chain – there are quite a few in town.

The only disappointment of our stay in Chamonix had nothing to do with the Chalet… Chamonix was in a down-time (in between seasons). The lifts to Mt. Blanc were operating, but the Brévent lift and the other lifts on the other side of the valley were not running (they opened a week later). We like to hike and this issue cut back our ability to easily gain elevation for some great hikes on that side of the valley. We encountered the same closure problem with Chamonix’s Crystal Museum. We also felt the off-season slump when we visited the Tourist Information Center and found the clerk there less than helpful. Thank goodness we had Debbie and Al for suggestions!
In closing, Chalet Blanche was a great place to stay while we experienced Chamonix… we really enjoyed our stay there and will gladly return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed here with a group of 6 motorcyclists, very clean, freindly, open house, beds were comfy, breakfast was very good. Will come back, recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful ski holiday at Chalet Blanche in April this year. Debbie and Alastair were wonderful hosts. They made our stay so relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable.
We booked Chalet Blanche based on the reviews we had read on Trip advisor and we weren’t disappointed.
From the wonderful warm welcome to the delicious food and beautiful Chalet, everything was first class and fantastic value for money.
The Chalet has the most fantastic views of Mont Blanc. Really breathtaking!
Chamonix itself is a beautiful old town with so much character and charm.
Thank you Debbie and Alastair for making our stay so special. We can’t wait to return!

Tomas, Poland

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Warsaw
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I visited Chalet Blanche for the second time in April this year. The service was still as welcoming as it was on our last stay. Debbie and Alastair went out of their way to ensure our stay was extremely enjoyable. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. We really appreciated that Alastair joined us and the other guests most days for skiing. He was able to take us to different ski areas each day and show us the best pistes. This is a service we haven't found with other chalets in the area.

The Chalet is located about a 10 min walk from the centre of Chamonix in a quite location with the most fantastic views of Mont Blanc. Our room had a balcony facing Mont Blanc. There is a hot tub in the garden which was very useful to ease our aching limbs at the end of a good days skiing.
A hearty breakfast was included in the price and also, tea/coffee and cakes after skiing and a delicious 3 course evening meal with as much wine as you liked. Also included was the drop off and pick up from the slopes each day, and also Alastair joining us some days to show the best ski areas.

Chalet Blanche is a wonderfully relaxing, comfortable place to stay in a great location for skiing or a summer break. All made even more enjoyable by our hosts, Debbie and Alastair, who make you feel like old friends. We will definately be back again...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We had a wonderful holiday at Chalet Blanche and would recommend it to everyone, Debbie & Al had attended to every detail to make our stay the best. It has a very friendly atmosphere and felt like home from home, you could not fault anything.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Yet again, we were enchanted by the relaxed and friendly ambience of Chalet Blanche. Despite our having been to this hotel every year since Al and Debbie established themselves in Chamonix it still seems like a new and exciting experience for us.
There was a staff crisis when the chef and his partner had to leave at very short notice due to a family bereavement but we, and the other guests, were not really aware of the problem as Al and Debbie coped very efficiently.
There is an informal, inclusive,family type, atmosphere that belies the fact that the proprietors work extremely hard to ensure that all the guests have an enjoyable and fullfilling stay.
Well done, the Johnstons!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Travelling by car with my 15 year old son, Chamonix was a ski holiday we had very much arranged at the last minute and what a holiday it turned out to be.
The Chalet Blanche takes catered chalets to a new level, in my experience. It delivered everything and much more than we could possible have expected.
Spectacular, breath taking views set within a very comfortable walking distance from a most picturesque and inviting town centre, its positioning being perfect for shops of various kinds, ski rental, resteraunt and wine bars, and other ‘must visit’ places.
An extremely well appointed chalet with spacious and tastefully decorated rooms with on suite facilities, our room benefited from a balcony and seating with which to enjoy the sun and the magnificent vista of the Mont Blanc range.
Catering was to a very high standard, from the morning of cereal, bread rolls, croissants and a fully cooked breakfast, to the afternoon tea and home made cake in the afternoon, the eating experience being concluded with a well presented three course evening meal with copious amounts of wine to accompany it! This was finished off with coffee and after diner drinks in the lounge, the balcony or even in the hot tub!! Even my occasional ‘fussy foody’ 15 year enjoyed the evening meals!
Hosts and chalet owners Debbie and Al were absolutely first class. They went out of their way to make sure that every guest was fully catered for and assisted in ski collection, getting the ski passes (at the best rates!!) transport to and from the slopes both in Chamonix and even neighbouring Courmayeur, through the Mont Blanc Tunnel in Italy. For us this was a great additional advantage as the snow conditions had been unseasonably mild and the snow conditions not great in Chamonix. By comparison Courmayeur, whilst still affected by the warmer temperatures, had more runs for us to experience. Both Debbie and Al happily took us and our other Chalet compatriots to Italy for the skiing and arrived at the appointed time to return us back to the chalet. This was all performed by them cheerfully and without drama and as often as we wished during the week.
As we were quite literally at the end of the ski season, I have absolutely no doubt that the ‘nothing is too much trouble’ attitude of Debbie and Al was very much their typical and genuine approach to their guests. Frankly, their stamina and professionalism was both commended and applauded by all the guests and why for us, it is one of the many reasons our skiing vacation was so pleasurable.
The lack of snow has not put us off skiing at Chamonix…..but Chalet Blanche has given us reasons for wanting to return…..maybe in Summer?

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Blanche

Address: 75, Chemin des Vourzes, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Blanche is a traditional chalet that has been refurbished to a very high standard with 8 en-suite bedrooms, sleeping up to 20 people. It is located in a quite area but is just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Chamonix. Offering B&B accommodation in the summer and fully catered in the winter we offer something for everyone in the magnificent Chamonix valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Blanche Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Blanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.