We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Panier des 4 Saisons

Le Panier des 4 Saisons
262, rue Paccard, 74400 Chamonix, France
+33 4 50 53 98 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 177 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $64
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After having spent one week in Cham with long suffering ski partner out of the 6 nights here we ate 5 times at the Panier. Need i say more?
Everything from service to the atmosphere to the exquisite food was extraordinary. What really makes this place worth the visit is the Chef's choice of menu; he doesn't adhere to strict mountain rules. mountain food is there is you want but the menu is varied.
Heartily recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    75
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if in Chamonix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

An oase after all the touristic traps/mistakes which I ALWAYS try to avoid. Now obviously invain. Very good - sort of - regional food. Very nice, personal service. Thank you Harry, Romany and Morraine for your attantion in this Sahara of real values called Chamonix.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT chef, pleasant restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

People - PLEASE GO - this place deserves your patronage (as opposed to some other places around town). You will glad you did! Why? Read on.

Now - here is my issue. Looked on Tripadvisor for good restaurants in Chamonix, the top 10 is cluttered with take aways and pie shops... Walked past this restaurant returning from the slopes, noticed they have a EUR 29-something prix fixe three course dinner. So - I knew where it was (tucked away in a small shopping mall off the main drag),, some good reviews, so we went.

Restaurant itself - nice light wood everywhere, pleasant.

Service - slow to get started, one very experienced waitperson, one less so, and one - well - water boy material. Improved as the night wore on, maybe we had just come in too early?

Wine list - not the Chamonix over the top expensive wine list, but nice selection overall, something for most tastes I am sure..

FOOD - now for the important bit. Chef TAKES RISKS - also with the prix fixe menu. Both technical as well as with respect to ingredients. Calculated risks that pay off, though. I eat out a lot (... work...) this was VERY GOOD, and ample portions at that. I was ready to go back the next day!

Lastly - VERY reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Tucked away but worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This restaurant is just off the main pedestrian street, so was quite quiet the night I was there. It is certainly worth visiting. The food was very nice, service friendly and efficient.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent food, well presented great overall service by two young waitresses. Beautiful ambiance. The perfect dining experience. Compliments to the chef. Definitely a must do on any visit to chamonix!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Panier des 4 Saisons also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Panier des 4 Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Panier des 4 Saisons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.