We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual fine dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Munchie

Munchie
87 Rue Moulins, 74400 Chamonix, France
0450534541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 162 Restaurants in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Casual fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I absolutely loved this place! We came here for a dinner on Christmas Eve. Affordable (~ 20€) and well prepared main courses. Our waitress was also super kind. The portions were bigger than what one would have in a typical sit-down restaurant. I'd recommend having Munchie's classic duck teriyaki. Delicious! If you're looking for a more peaceful atmosphere I recommend taking a table downstairs. Upstairs seemed to be a bit noisy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    85
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Just off the Main Street in Chamonix, the food was excellent and the service was quick. Only missed out on a 5* due to maybe ordering the wrong main course. Good atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Absolutely every dish we tried was one of the best things i have ever had, the food here is so incredible. Wish they would open up in NYC so i could have all the time. Must go!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Varied Menu & Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I enjoyed Munchie Cuisine et Bar very much. We had a very friendly Swedish waiter who was delightfully frank. He was funny, likeable and very chatty. The menu seemed pretty varied with lots of Japanese style meals. I had the duck teriyaki which was pretty decent. The duck was amazing however it was slightly salty. I need lots of rice and water. I am not a fan of salt at all so perhaps I am a bit sensitive in that matter.

The starters were delicious, I think we had spring rolls and squid.

I would definitely recommend this place as it had a great vibe, friendly service and the food was decent!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The best Restaurant in Chamonix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We regularly go to Munchie's and always feel it as a treat. We love Munchie's for it's amazing food and great service. It offers tasty, healthy Asian food in a cosy, clean restaurant. They serve lovely sushi rolls which were not authentic, but delicious.
My partner found the duck irresistible where as I find it difficult to move away from the fillet of beef.
This is a Swedish run business in a lively part of town and if you head for the Rue de Moulins where are lots of bars and clubs in this area to make it one of the best location for a great night out.
It is better to book ahead as this is a very busy restaurant even in the quieter season.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchie also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Munchie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munchie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.