We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain high, valley low Chamonix's the place to go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamonix Mont Blanc

Chamonix Mont Blanc
Chamonix, France
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by...
Ranked #5 of 41 Activities in Chamonix
Type: Mountains, Adventure
Attraction details
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mountain high, valley low Chamonix's the place to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I first visited Chamonix 12 years ago and fell in love with the whole area immediately. I have been back a further 4 times and each time it fills me with excitement. The scenery is so spectacular and ( so long as the clouds are not so low down) you cannot stop looking skyward to the peaks of the Mont Blanc range. I have visited more remote areas in the French and Swiss alps which have very spectacular scenery as well but the good thing about Chamonix is it's access from the uk. Fly to Geneva and with in an hour you are sitting outside a cafe enjoying stunning views Mont Blanc. There is plenty to do whether you hike, bike, rock climb, ski, mountaineer or just take gentle strolls and relax. It has everything for all year although things slow down between seasons, some services close but most things are open. Plenty of choice of places to stay. Prices in Chamonix can seem a bit expensive but look around and you can find cafe's and restaurants which fairly priced. If you want your first taste of the alpine life them Chamonix and Mont Blanc will undoubtedly wet your appetite. I love it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    59
    6
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mere de Glace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

this amazing glacier. You have to take the train to go up there. Be preperd to walk... And when you are up, Nive restaurant, but make the effort of going donw again to visit the "Ice Cavern" Actually, just the train trip is great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Mountain Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Whether just a day hike or the multi day overnight, Jeff Banks made our Chamonix hiking experience just perfect. His knowledge of what type of terrain and difficulty suited us (reasonably fit ages 60 to 72) just perfectly. Talked with us at length about our abilities, needs and expectations to make sure it was right for us. Boy was it. But that couldn't hold a candle to his friendly, cheerful, and unflaggingly patient personality. Took us on one overnight on Italian side from Bertoni to Bonatti (see reviews on that. Every word of praise justified) and then a day trip from Montenvers to Aguille du Midi. We have hiked all over US and British Isles. All agreed it was the hike of our lives. Could have done it on our own, but so glad we didn't. Site is jeffbanksmountain guide.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comarnic, Prahova, Romania
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

the ride with the cable car to Aiguille du Midi had breathtaking views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding Alps, it was great.....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relax, welcoming and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is not only for skiing, if you like to have jungle trekking, sun bathing (during summer), mountian hiking, everything is available.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamonix Mont Blanc also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Chamonix Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamonix Mont Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.