We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamonix Mont Blanc

Chamonix Mont Blanc
Chamonix, France
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by...
Ranked #5 of 41 Activities in Chamonix
Type: Mountains, Adventure
Attraction details
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was an incredible tour. Starting from Chamonix, going to Midi, taking amazing pictures of Mont Blanc and glaciers, each was a wonderful moment. Also some nice restaurants are there in Chamonix. I took it from Geneva.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    59
    6
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The natural beauty is breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent the day in Chamonix. Took the tram up to Midi and looked out at Mont Blanc. What a mountain! The glaciers are magnificent and the valley looked like green velvet. A real treat to see. This is a jewel!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I cannot say how incredible this tour was- the entire experience was exceptional. I live in Alberta, Canada and I am used to skiing in the Canadian Rockies so I am not easily impressed as far as these types of excursions go- trust me this is one tour you cannot miss. You must also be brave and take the second gondola up to the North peak. It will look terrifying, but going up is really not as bad as it looks-and the view is our of this world.

Expect to take a jacket even on a warm day. Your at such a high altitude expect to experience some dizziness, shortness of breath, etc, but it does pass and once you go back down you should be fine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Chamonix - Jewel Of The French Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Chamonix is truly a Jewel in the French Alps - Just about 1 Hour from Geneva Chamonix is something not to be missed. Charming streets, colorful cafes and the fantastic Mont Blanc at the backdrop - makes Chamonix one of the most charming Mountain Resorts. We stayed at the Mercure - Located close to the station and also the point of Bus Transfers to Geneva and other places. Ok Rooms but location was nice - a short walk from the centre. Surprisingly, there are also 2 Indian Restaurants here - pretty decent food.
What makes it even more interesting is that in an hour you can be in Switzerland, in less than that in the Aosta VAlley in Italy.A good option if driving from Switzerland to Italy via Chamonix.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“From Switzerland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Began the trip by train in Martigny. Train trip alone was worth the visit. Beautiful views of Mt. Blanc and the river below. Train track was being repaired from the Swiss border, so took the replacement bus running every hour. Travel time about two hours each way. Time in Chamonix was ok. Obviously a tourist city. Although beautiful, many other Swiss villages are its equal or better

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamonix Mont Blanc also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Chamonix Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamonix Mont Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.