We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of winter-magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamonix Mont Blanc

Chamonix Mont Blanc
Chamonix, France
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by...
Ranked #6 of 41 Activities in Chamonix
Type: Mountains, Adventure
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little piece of winter-magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

First of all it's cold as H*** !!! make sure you prepare everything, not only thick jacket and thick socks, but do prepare something for your lips and ears.
And since it's in higher elevation...as you might have already known...it will probably make you feel dizzy-ish (AT LEAST FOR ME), so I dont know, prepare something for that too.

Other than that, GOSH it is breathtaking!!! (literally and figuratively), it's beautiful, top-notch, unforgettable experience. The scene was something to die for. I can't really describe it but go for a visit!

You are getting into the cable car twice before you get to the top, even then the scene was already unbelievable enough it kinda make you realise how small you are in this world.

They do have a place that sells food, nothing really fancy but good enough, baguette sandwiches, bruschetta, i forgot what was it called huge round sandwiches, gratin; tartiflette... or if you could hold your stomach, go for the various bistros / brasseries down in chamonix

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    59
    6
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you want to see the most stunning scenery, visit Chamonix. It's mountain views are the most beautiful I have seen. Wrap up warm and enjoy yourself :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisnée, Liege, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice town built in the middle of the mountains. A great place to have fun with your friends or your family.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magic day for 2 NZ 'Kiwis'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hubby & I had the priviledge of holidaying with friends, in Millery (near Lyon) 2-1/2 hours away from Chamonix. One aim was to take us to 'their most beautiful, white mountain'.
On the road by 9am, we arrived at the stunningly picturesque, alpine town of Chamonix, around 11.30am.
We would savour the sights of this beautiful town after we returned from 'up the mountain' as we wanted to get up there before the 'perfect conditions' changed.
Tickets purchased (46.20 Euros each) for the journey by 2 cablecars, over 2 levels, we began our ascent of 3842m. The cablecars house 72 people & if you're lucky enough to get near the windows (guess that was me) you get such an amazing view of the whole Chamonix township to photograph.
Approx 20 minutes later, it was a case of "Wow, Wow, Wow!" as we alighted from the cablecar.
A beautiful sunny day, the air noticeably thinner, making us feel rather lightheaded, we had to take our time to adjust, while climbing up the steps to our first lookout. Thankfully we had gone prepared & now jumped into our windjackets. Not freezing but definately cool.
Such a spectacular view from this vantage point, overlooking the magnificent mountain tops, caked with thick snow & watching the brave climbers walking the narrow ridges. The birds floating down to rest on the lookout ledge, stole my heart, when they landed nearby to say hello. The glacier on the side of Mont Blanc (on the right of our vantage point) looking like folds of whipped cream.
Here was me thinking this was magic & then our friend informed us we had another level to go which would take us up to the peak. A short walk through a covered walkway led us to the lift which would take us the further 66m up.
Unbelievable - we were now 88 metres HIGHER than our own countries highest mountain of Mt Cook! Being up so high, we were almost on a high knowing this fact. The scenery was just 'out of anything' we've seen before. What marvellous memories (and photos) to take home with us.
2 hours later, after a quick visit inside the snow cave, we were heading back down via the gift/coffee shop to wander the streets in another realm of wonder, at the beautiful town of Chamonix.
This 'whole day' excursion is an ABSOLUTE MUST for any traveller of any country. You won't be disappointed.
On reminiscing, I'm unsure now though whether there was wheelchair access on the excursion up the mountain. I apologise for this oversight.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merano, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

great place to ski, great ski stations! we will definitely return in chamonix and mont blanc next ski holidays

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamonix Mont Blanc also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Chamonix Mont Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamonix Mont Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.