We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced pretentious and rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverne de Chamouny - CLOSED

La Taverne de Chamouny
12, avenue Michel Croz, 74400 Chamonix, France
04 50 53 00 20
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Home Counties, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced pretentious and rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We went there for an authentic Savoyarde "hot stone". Wish we had gone that bit further to La Carlina which is much better. La taverna staff gave the impression they were doing us a favour letting us have a table. The waiter had chronic BO. The woman taking our wine order was rude and only interested in fleecing us to buy expensive wine. Food was ok but no instruction re hot stone cooking or what sauces were. Prices very high compared with much better restaurants in Chamonix. I am with other reviewer. Cannot understand how they are still in business. No one would ever go there for a second visit. Wish we hadn't gone there for a first

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    18
    30
    59
    333
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worst food experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Can't believe they are still open. They are so lucky to be downtown so they can fool people to get in. We spent 61€ for a couple of salad (we left them) and some bread with cheese (left it also).
What a shame we shouldn't pay at all...
Don't get here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst food experience of our trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Without a doubt this was our worst food experience of the entire trip - our mistake as one look here would have forewarned us!

We were searching for a dinner option at around 9pm on a Monday, which is what I guess is a late time of night in Chamonix in the mid season between summer hiking and winter snow sports to be doing this. We chose this establishment as we had already been turned away from other restaurants as they had closed - at this point we should have got something from the supermarket or a vending machine, both better options than what we ended up with.

The food at La Taverne was astonishingly bad and the service was absolutely appalling. I ordered a tartiflette aravis which I thought would be a no brainer to make absolutely delicious given the key ingredients (cheese, potato, bacon, butter, cream) but they managed to completely stuff this up. My partner ordered a Tagli Vegetariennes which was in her opinion the worst dish she has ever eaten, dry pasta with microwaved vegies on top, no sauce! - it certainly didn't look appealing to me. The wine was good (the restaurant had nothing to do with this) but overpriced.

The service was just as bad as the food. Abrupt, uncaring and rude.

Please do not go here, it should be shut down due to lack of business as soon as possible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A right rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We dropped in for a drink at the end of a pleasant evening out. We ordered two 'pressions' (draught beers) and, having lived in France for 12 years, expected to be told the choice on offer . This is what always happens in Brittany where we live but not at this joint. Instead we were just served the most expensive beers they had which were not even filled to the top of the glass. More fool us for not asking what they were going to serve but be warned. Don't go there. The service is a con and we were ripped off. Take your custom and your money to one of the other very pleasant, value for money bars where the staff serve with integrity and a smile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“OK food great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Can't beat the location - right in the center of Chamonix. Food was average. Service was really good - very friendly, welcoming, and quick. Good for kids. Was a bit pricey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverne de Chamouny also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverne de Chamouny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.