We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Une arnaque / a rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Kitchen

La Petite Kitchen
80 | Place du Poilu, 74400 Chamonix, France
0450543744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 161 restaurants in Chamonix
Price range: $6 - $53
Cuisines: European, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Petite Kitchen is a new Modern-European style restaurant in the heart of Chamonix. You'll find a warm welcome, good prices, and excellent food.We offer bistro-style food during the day in a fun and chilled café environment. In the evening the space changes into a cosy and relaxed dining room, with great wines from all over Europe and South America which accompany a select, freshly prepared and inventive menu.You won't find better value for money in Chamonix!
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Une arnaque / a rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The menu is quite expensive for what they serve. We enjoyed the starter (salmon and scallops) but the main dish was not as tasty as expected (when you pay this price!) and the desert (brownie) wasn't fresh at all.
The waitress was pushing us to order some digestives and coffee as we were a big table of 9 people. At the end we had to pay 56 euros per person! First we were surprised. Then we noticed they add 10% of service (50€) which is ILLEGAL in France!!! Stop doing this! Thank you! Disappointed group.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivaLondon, Owner at La Petite Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am disappointed to read the review from this client. At the end of the meal when asked if they had enjoyed everything they replied that they had, in fact they said that they would come back the next time they visited Chamonix. We did not receive a complaint about the dessert, and if we had we certainly would have changed it immediately.

We ask every table if they would like a digestif with their dessert and coffee as do most restaurants, so this shouldn't seem unusual.

56€ per head is average for a 3 course meal with wine, coffee and digestif in Chamonix. We operate in a seasonal town and the prices reflect this.

Finally the service charge is optional, as explained to the client at the time. They were under no obligation to pay it, it is merely a guidline for international guests as they often are unsure how much to leave for service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    144
    65
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga Beach, Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this place. They have good aura. Restaurant is were cosy and staff is friendly. We chosen scalops as starter and it was delicious. Steak also was good. This is great place for friends diners and family diners. As we are from Riga we were happy to meet person who was with Latvian origin in restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food away from tourist strip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two weeks in Chamonix and loved eating at this restaurant. The atmosphere was great. Lunch was relaxed and friendly, evenings were warm and cosy. The food is the best in Chamonix that we tried. Modern gourmet menu but not overpriced. Service was lovely. It's away from the ugly tourist strip. The pancakes we had for breakfast were awesome.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“So much overrated!..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked this restaurant basing on all those "wow" reviews here on Tripadvisor. What can I say? My husband prohibited me reading Tripadvisor after dining there. Though the place is tiny, the size is not its main problem. The food is a nightmare and the wines selection is even worse. Scallops were so much overdone they got rubbery hard, steak was impossible to chew, turbot was a shame and I'd better leave "white chocolate mousse" with no comments. The only reason I rated this place as "bad" instead of "horrible" is the service. Girls are trying to live up to the standards, but their enthusiasm is unfortunately not enough to rescue the place.
Guys, you've got so many wonderful restaurants in Chamonix - Le Panier des 4 Saisons, Auberge du Bois Prin, L'Atmosphere to name a few - do not waste your time and money in La Petite Kitchen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had only 1 night in Chamonix. A friend recommended La Petite Kitchen. What a find! It's a tiny place. Since it was low season, we were able to get a table. The prix fixe was superb. Service excellent and atmosphere quite pleasant. The presentation was pure artistry. Great lamb, beef and cod. Would love to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Kitchen also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to La Petite Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.