We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful lodge, walking distance to town, loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vert et Blanc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vert et Blanc to your Saves list
Vert et Blanc
997 Route des Praz, Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Chamonix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“beautiful lodge, walking distance to town, loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here one night before heading out on a long trek to Zermatt. We wished we could have stayed longer. What a beautiful lodge. Our room was quaint, comfortable and very well appointed. The owners were very accommodating (especially our late arrival) and the breakfast was excessive (in a very good way!). We will definitely stay here again when we return to Chamonix!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    38
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
127
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The location is a little out of town, there is a nice walk along the water though. Room was spacious and well appointed. Bathroom was really lovely and was furnished with hand crafted wood finishings which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was great and the host was really, really helpful. There were lots of other facilities we didnt use but looked great! The lounge room was a great place to hang out and the honesty bar was a great touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived to a wonderful welcolme which was so appreciated after being a bit weary from getting lost on our drive thru northern italy and switzerland via simplon pass to chamonix...the room standard is excellent..hotel class..the chalet makes u feel instantly at home..views from the room of the mountains are breathtaking... Thankyou again..kate stewart and co..aussie travellers

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A pre-winter training trip to prepare 9 mountain rescuers for the british winter was massively enhanced by the team at vert et blanc and the facilities of the the chalet. Long hard days on the hill melted away in the hot tub and fantastic food and hospitality made sleep very easy each night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChamJax, Owner at Vert et Blanc, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks Phil - it was a pleasure meeting you guys some for the first time and others for their second taste of Vert et Blanc hopefully we will see a few of you out here for a ski this winter

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

David went out of his way to attend to my every need. My room on the top floor was very quiet with both a shower and a tub in the bathroom. The view of Mont Blanc from the deck and other areas of the chalet was outstanding. It is a 20 minute walk to Chamonix on a beautiful trail along the river. Breakfast was amazing with a wonderful variety of food. I would not hesitate to stay at Vert et Blanc again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChamJax, Owner at Vert et Blanc, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure looking after you

David & Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our third year in a row returning to Vert et Blanc Chalet in Chamonix. Though Chamonix is a virtual paradise in the summertime, it is the both the Chalet and owner of the David that keep us coming back. I host a Yoga Retreat at David's Chalet most summers and it is always a high light of my year. The Chalet is top notch in cleanliness and comfort and the sprawling deck with hot tub at the foot of the Alps is nothing less then breath taking. We will continue to come back as long as David and Jackie have their doors open!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent. I have stayed in most of their rooms and really there is not a bad r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChamJax, Owner at Vert et Blanc, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Corrine

As always it was a true pleasure hosting your retreat hopefully see you again next year

Jackie & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just spent 9 wonderful days at this beautiful chalet. David,the host, and all of his staff are so wonderful. They make you feel so "special". The Chalet is extremely clean, has wonderful views and you just feel so welcome and at home. It is a short walk to the beautiful town of Chamonix. Maybe 20 minutes with beautiful views along the way.
I recommend this Chalet to everyone and would not stay anywhere else while visiting Chamonix. Charla

Room Tip: All the rooms had special qualities. Just let David know what you need and he will accomodate your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChamJax, Owner at Vert et Blanc, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
It was a true pleasure meeting you hopefully see you again in the future

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vert et Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vert et Blanc

Address: 997 Route des Praz, Chamonix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Vert et Blanc is owned and operated by Jackie & David and has been open since 2004. Operated as a catered chalet during the winter ski season and bed and breakfast during the summer months. The chalet is a real home from home. Guests have use of the spacious sitting room dining room 8 en- suite bedrooms sauna & outside hot tub. The winter catered package includes, breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea and dinner 6 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Vert et Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vert Et Blanc Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vert et Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.