We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Savoyard food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Dru

Le Dru
25, Ave Ravanel Le Rouge | Mont Blanc, Chamonix, France
450341035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 170 Restaurants in Chamonix
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Savoyard food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great local food. We enjoyed the Menu Savoyard which was very good value and delicious! Waiters were charming and the evening was great fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    34
    16
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had been out of the states for a month, dying for a good burger. Was not disappointed. They had a good selection of local wine. No champagne, though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor attitude & service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently visited this restaurant located in the beautiful town of Chamonix France. There were 2 couples at our table, and two other couples that were on our tour at a another table. All of us wanted to try the tartiflette which is a speciality of the area.
The waitress working on Sept.11 2012 at 13h30 was extremely impolite when she arrived at our table. I speak French so it wasn't a question of language. All four of us were in shock as we had never met a waitress with such an aggressive and impolite attitude. We shared our experience later with the other 4 people who were there from our tour group and they expressed the same experience
The one positive if you can call it that, was that at our table she allowed the couple with us to share a tartiflette, whereas at the other table where our friends were seated she refused to do so.
I did not see a manager, therefore i was unable to address this problem with the management.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Food was pretty good. Service could have been a little more friendly. Our kids liked the dog on the rooftop.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Forget this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It has been the worst place we visited in Chamonix (we have tested around 6 restaurants during our stay): service, food, wine and price. Do not want to waste my time in preparing the review when we have nothing to recommend and your time for reading the review.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Dru also viewed

Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Dru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Dru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.