We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to low expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chamoniard Volant

Le Chamoniard Volant
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Chamoniard Volant to your Saves list
Le Chamoniard Volant
45 route de la frasse, 74400 Chamonix, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lived up to low expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Expectations were low given the previous reviews of this place, but I needed somewhere cheap to stay at short notice so booked anyway. Not the friendliest of welcomes but it could have been worse. They did accuse me of leaving without paying because they could't keep track of their records.

Positives:
Convenient walking distance for Chamonix town centre, close to the sports centre/swimming pool
Hot showers
View of Mont Blanc from my dorm

Negatives:
"Self catering" is a bit of joke - the "kitchen" consists of a row of archaic gas burners, a fridge and a sink and not much else. Cramped, dirty and very limited selection of chipped and dirty crockery and cutlery and a few dirty bent saucepans -take you own lighter, mug, plate, spork and penknife/multitool and plan on simple 1 pot meals only!

Very poor security - hostel not looked at all at night. Key pads for code entry to the dorms only work on some rooms -others are unlocked. Small lockers in dorms (require own padlock)

Breakfast was included in the price of my bed but otherwise costs 6€ for a couple of pieces of baguette with jam, cornflakes and tea - not worth it.

Dorms are cramped with plastic coated mattresses on beds, take your own sleeping bag or sheets. Heavy self slamming doors + paper thin walls = little sleep

Communal (mixed) shower room with tiny cubicles and nowhere to hang you stuff in the cubicle so it doesn't get wet, but need to have it in the cubicle so don't flash to everyone!

Simple things easily rectified with a bit of thought and care at little cost - the impression overall is very much that they don't really care about making your experience pleasant. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    6
    18
See reviews for
2
5
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The experience would have been fine if not for the rude, miserable staff. I didn't expect much from a €16 per night hostel, but I certainly didn't expect such unpleasant hosts. I would avoid this gite in future, especially having been told of others at a similar sort of price.

The big dorm was just about clean, and comfortable enough even when full. The kitchen was crowded but functional, and again... clean enough (tip: bring your own mug and penknife). The showers are always hot.

There's zero security, as has been mentioned elsewhere, so have a locking case or something if possible. Anybody can walk in off the street at any time.

The rumour is that the owners are trying to sell this place, so perhaps it will improve under new management one day.

Final positive note: being a backpackers', the gite/hostel is always host to interesting people - travellers, seasonaires and the like. I don't know whether or not the other hostels have such a mix.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well, where shall I start......we were greeted by an unfriendly & impatient woman who no body saw smile the whole weekend. The hostel has a side door that is left unlocked all night. The main room on the top floor has no door. In our group of 12.... 6 people were robbed in the night. The hostel owner didn't seem surprised or concerned. Avoid this place if you can, sleeping at a bus stop would probably be safer.

Room Tip: Get a small room that has a solid lock on the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The robbery is probably as good as anywhere to begin, in the night 6 people in our dorm were relieved of wallets and cash totaling over €1,000 and we heard another person had their skis taken.

However, a robbery would have been more palatable if it hadn't been in one of the least hospitable and unfriendly hostels I have ever had the misfortune to stay.

The woman running the place and her cohorts were rude and abusive to my group barely before we'd even stepped through the doorway. The dorm was cold, sparse and one power socket in a room for 16 is hardly sufficient.

The breakfast such as it was (cornflakes, warm milk and baguettes) was probably the best thing about this place.

If you pay peanuts you get monkeys as the saying goes but no matter how cheap this place was it probably isn't worth it. Especially when you factor in the fact that most of our group ended up lighter in the pocket thanks to somebody pilfering from our cash

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

If you want to leave Chamonix without any of your valuables, and to have permanent ear damage from being screamed at in pigeon-English by the tyrannical owner, then stay here. If not, look elsewhere sharpish. A terrible hostel with appalling management. There is also a nightly thief. Our group of 10 had c.£3,000 worth of belongings stolen in the first night and on being told of the theft, the owner just shrugged her shoulders. Extraordinarily poor level of customer service. Needless to say if I ever go to Chamonix again, this is the last place I'd stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is an exceptionally low cost backpackers in the normally expensive Chamonix. Located about ten mins walk from the town centre. I stayed in the big dorm for a week for approx £12 per night. Had a comfortable single bed (but there are bunk beds as well). Pillow and blanket provided but you must bring a sleeping bag (would advise against renting sheets). Big shower room with great showers 24 hours. Ski room (not locked). Security seemed good, but beware there are no lockers in the large dorm. Smaller 4 bed rooms are accessed with a code. If you have valuables these can be kept safe behind reception.

The place is a little tired but its clear that is the case and kind of adds to its charm. Yes the occasional floorboard creaks stated in a previous review but this isn't a problem.

Breakfast was 6 euros for a coffee, some cereal and bread and jam so would advise making your own if you are on a tight budget.

Kitchen featured numerous ring burners and a large fridge. No kettle, no toaster. Bring your own plate/cup. Pots and pans are pretty tired so bring your own billys if you are planning on doing a lot of cooking.

Ski bus stop 50m from front door (really easy). Busses in both directions (up to Le Tour or into town). Busses are frequent, particularly at peak times.

Met an eclectic mix of hardcore skiiers and boarders, families, professionals all up to something in the Chamonix mountain mecca!

In summary the Chamoniard is cheap, and you get what you pay for but I had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Place wasn't that bad, although it's very much a backpacker. It's a bit far from the city center, which drops the price down. The rooms don't lock, so i was always worried about keeping stuff in there. The bathroom were clean enough. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. Overall, the place was just clean enough, although it could have been better. The staff was friendly, though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chamoniard Volant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chamoniard Volant

Address: 45 route de la frasse, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Le Chamoniard Volant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chamoniard Volant Hotel Chamonix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chamoniard Volant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.