We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Novel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Novel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Avenue de France, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Standard Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for four nights at the end of August 2012. We found the hotel to be fair for the price. I don't know where othe reviewers have got their comments from (maybe from a different hotel) . The accomodation is over four floors (there isn't a fifth floor). The rooms are kept clean and the towels are changed for fresh clean ones every day. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay a memorable one.
The rooms where well fitted out with modern decor and furniture. The hotel was at the same standard as an Ibis or Campanile. The standard is good, basic if a little plastic
The location is about 20 minutes walk from the lake and there are one or two restaurants in the area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

For £100+ a night in a place like this I would expect a clean room with a decent bathroom. It felt more like a bail hostel. The staff were friendly enough but it doesn't compensate for the dirtyness and lack of refinement. Disappointing. How do these places stay in business I don't know.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We needed an overnight stop on route across France to the UK. This Hotel is in a pleasant residential location and the staff are friendly and helpful. With regard to the room, it has seen better days (about 25 years ago judging from the state of the furnishing). However if you want to relive the 70's, in a shabby sort of way, this would be OK. However, I think stained grouting, saggy mattresses and worn out bed spreads probably were not popular then either. Oh, and there was not ONE plug available to charge up a phone etc. Any plugs in the room were inaccessible or sort of fused to the wall. Not very useful these days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

but would need a renewal and new decoration to make it more appealing to customers.
Our room looked more like a room at a hostel, not a hotel. It was also quite noisy and there was no air conditioning. Because of the noise coming from the quite big road just outside (we had to keep the window open since it was so hot), we could not sleep very well. I think the price was too high.
There was no fridge/mini bar.
A good quality free wi-fi connection that worked perfectly well at all times!
A good restaurant at the hotel.
And I want to stress that the staff was really great and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Novel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novel

Address: 69 Avenue de France, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Novel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.