We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location...but don't forget your earplugs !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Chateau to your Saves list
Hotel du Chateau
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, rampe du Chateau, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous location...but don't forget your earplugs !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We first stayed in this hotel some 20 years ago and still find its charm, location and value-for-money delightful. Our Saturday night stop there in February 2013 confirmed this opinion. A short stroll down one of the many cobbled streets or flights of stone steps takes you right into the heart of old Annecy with its beautiful old buildings and waterways leading to the gorgeous lakeside park. On Sunday morning there is a wonderful street market in the old town selling mainly local produce - the cheeses are amazing ! Hotel staff (and cats !) are very friendly and helpful, breakfasts are sumptuous, rooms and bathroom facilities are perfectly clean and kitted out and not too small. There seems to be quite a variety of room configurations available : we had a triple room as we had our teenage son and 2 little doggies with us ! The beds and bed linen were amongst the most comfortable we've ever come across. The only down-side is that, as the walls are very thin, even the comfort of the beds will not guarantee an unbroken night's sleep !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
50
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The lady at the reception was very nice and checked us in very quickly. No lift so you have to walk up the 2 flights. The view from our room was very nice and the room very quaint. It was clean and very quiet. The bathroom is not very big but its fine. There was free wifi, reception was not great but it did the trick. the price was very fair for the location. I would stay here again if i go back to Annecy. You can park in front of the hotel for free but it can be full, otherwise there is a parking right beside the chateau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a nice small hotel very close to the city center. Just a 5 minutes walking from the old Annecy.
Our room was small, and the bathroom was a miniature... but we really enjoyed our 3-night stay in this hotel.
Breakfast is good, there are croissants, bread, confitures, yogurt, juice, coffee, hot milk and hot water.
There was a little problem with our reservation, they cancelled it by mistake, but the owner was very helpful and helped us in the best way... and we had our room !
Forget to park your own car inside the hotel area. There are around 5-6 places but they are always busy. A hundred meters away from the hotel there is the Chateau parking and the hotel gives you a card for the parking to have the nights free of cost.
The weak point of this hotel is the very poor sound-insulation of the rooms. You can hear your neighbours talking...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My parents and I chose this small hotel for our four-day stay in Annecy in September. The front desk was genuinely helpful and friendly, helping us with all the details of parking, what to do/see, etc. Their breakfast is cozy and nice, though, as is sometimes the case with French hotels, could have used a little more, especially in the way of some protein. The beautiful old town of Annecy is right at your doorstep, with the chateau right across the street and the rest of the town just below the hotel. A nice feature we only used the last day was the ability to take breakfast out on a tray to sit on a little outdoor patio which overlooks the roofs of the city below. Internet service worked only in the lobby for me, though I wasn't there to surf the 'net, so it wasn't a big deal. We rented bikes and skates for the beautiful path that clings to the lakefront. Probably about halfway up the lake we stopped in a village called Duingt, where we had a somewhat pricey but outstanding lakefront fish lunch before taking the bikes on the ferry for the return to the town of Annecy.

I recommend this hotel for anyone wanting good quality with old-town charm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I deliberately did not want to stay in a sanitised chain hotel for my stay in Annecy, so looked for something more low key and French and this is it. The reception is nothing to write home about, but unusually for France there were bilingual staff. Nice little sun terrace, and parking (if you're early), which is useful as to get around near Annecy you need a car (though the town itself is better without one). Rooms were fine - nothing grand, tv (French channels only), and ours had a great view over Annecy and fantastic afternoon sunshine (Room 22). The typical French bit was the rooms are a bit small, a bit dated, and there is ZERO sound proofing. So when the kids at the end of the corridor decide to slam the doors for an hour, you can hear everything. But for us, it was fine, and the location is excellent. If you understand the French, this is a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I liked this hotel because they had self serve drinks and beer for sale in a refrigerator in the lobby (reasonably priced at 2 euros).
It was hot weather so I found it strange that the bed was made up with a very heavy wool blanket. The sheet plus the medium weight comforter would have been plenty of bedding. But at least the maid did not put it back on when she made up the room.
The staff was pretty nice and the breakfast was tasty (they have fresh bakery products delivered each morning).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I spent one very comfortable night at Hotel du Chateau. The room is a good size. The bed is fine (nothing exceptional but fine) and the bathroom was clean with good shower pressure etc. The views from my window were stunning and I really enjoyed sitting in the sun on the little terrace outside the hotel. The hotel is well located in the old part of town, a very easy walk to everything you'd want to see. One note of caution: it's a bit difficult to find this place so arrive with very good directions (or stop and ask a local!). I didn't have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 16, rampe du Chateau, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.