We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal

Save Saved
You added Le Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue Royale, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the privilodges so much we extended our stay in lovely Annecy!

Apartment was clean and in a great location, only downside was the Internet not being very reliable.

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-François B, Directeur général at Le Royal, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,

I would like to thank you in person for your comment on Tripadvisor concerning your Stay in our residence.
Your satisfaction is, and always will be, our best reward.
Aware of the Wifi/internet importance I'm glad to announce you that we are currently working on improving the whole internet in the residence.

Also you inform us that you'll be happy to come back for another stay, I'll be happy to offer you the breakfast for your next stay, (you only need to present this mail in order to benefit of this gift).

Once again, in the name of all the team : thank you for your comment and see you soon at Privilodges.

Cordially

Baptiste Cron
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

First, the Internet, the only negative, don't count on wifi working in your room. It didn't. Good reception in the lobby with a desktop available to patrons.

This self-catering hotel is in a perfect location to explore Annecy. Right on one of the main streets in the city, it is a five minute walk into the old town and a five minute walk to the lake. Excellent shops and restaurants and a grocery are just a stone's throw from the property.

The hotel offers parking (at a charge) but there is very limited parking in the city and this is a major plus. We were travelling as a party of six. Two adults with little kids and two grandparents. We had a one bedroom suite and a studio. Both came with well equipped kitchenettes with a sink and a refrigerator. The living areas are compact but manageable. It comes with a flat screen tv and adequate channels in multiple languages including english. The bathrooms are spacious although the lighting is dim. There is no maid service and linens and towels are changed only weekly. The studio had a beautiful view overlooking a park and a church and the mountains.

For children, adjacent to the hotel, is a lovely kid's park, with lots of equipment for the children and, weather permitting, there are lots of kids to play with. All in all, this is a great place for families. The prices are modest compared to the full service hotels in town.

Room Tip: For couples, the studio is very adequate. For families of three or four or more, the suite comes wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-François B, Directeur général at Le Royal, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank in person for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Privilodges apparthotel ! Our guests satisfaction is our top priority and I am sincerely happy to read such feedback regarding your stay.

Your remarks and suggestions have been carefully read ; they help us every day to improve
and to be up to your expectations for another stay. You'll be happy to know that we are currently improving the free wifi access into the residence in order to make your next stay even better.

I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon at Privilodges Le Royal.

Best regards,

Baptiste CRON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived on Sunday and actually Annecy center is very hard to drive due to some road works. After a while, we finally found the place. We were very lucky that we found a parking space just next to it on the street for free.

The person speaks a bit of English with french accent, but she is a great help when we asked for directions of the nearest supermarket, which is just 20 steps around the corner.

We reserved an apartment room for one night, the room was very very tight, hardly good for us to move around. We were 2 persons. The room was ok, for this price in the center of Annecy, no need to complain. There were basic cookwares for us to make a meal. There was water boiler, coffee makers, soap, detergent for dish cleaning in the kitchen. On the bed, there was a welcome kit with tea, coffee, and cookies.The fridge was clean and the room has AC. The bed was embedded on the wall, which was opened up when we arrived. It was a very high bed I have to say. You need to almost climb up to it.

The WIFI was free and it is possible to connect with multiple devices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is perfect and accommodation was spotlessly clean. The terrace is wonderful and a lovely place to sit at any time of the day.We had booked a studio "privilege" which the website promised had something additonal to the extra space. We were very disappointed with the first "studio" which was on the ground floor (so we couldn't open the windows) and cars were parked directly in front of both windows...not much of a view! This studio may be suitable for one night but we had booked for five. We were subsequently able to change to another studio which although still very compact was on the first floor and had a really lovely view across the gardens. Our fold up bed didn't but although it wasn't a problem for us at all it would be good to have been notified of this to avoid us struggling with it for some time!The kitchen area is well equipped but in the first one we had no kettle or tea towel but a chooping board and in the other the kettle and tea towel but no chopping board. It would be good if there was a list of items in the hotel folder in the room so you knew what to expect! The staff are helpful but the reception is not manned all the time and not when we arrived - we had been notified of this well in advance but due to some error the room number on the check in slip didn't match the room number on the cards - it took us a while to realize this! Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were originally hesitant to book a room here, as we like the idea of staying at hotels, especially smaller hotels, and worried that these apartments would be dingy or impersonal. But we booked it anyway, and are quite glad we did. As others have mentioned, the staff is helpful, the rooms are very nice and clean (and ours had a wonderful view), and the location is great -- right on the edge of the old town, and only a few minutes from the train station. One suggestion: don't sign up for breakfast, which isn't cheap. Instead, go to one of the nearby bakeries and get croissants and pastries. Our favorite bakery was on Rue de la Poste, a couple places up from Rue Royale (i.e., about a one minute walk from the apartments).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-François B, Gérant at Le Royal, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Good afternoon,

Sorry it took us a this long to answer your very nice comment on Tripadvisor after staying in our Privilodges apparthotel in Annecy, but we have been busy with the summer season.

We also have been busy changing all the breakfast room as well as the breakfast presentation ; the presentation and some of the products have been modified, new furniture has been addded inside and outside.....(and you mentioned the breakfast in your comment, so I guess you just have to come back to test the new version !).

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay as well as our city.

We wish you a pleasant month of september and hope to see you again in one of our properties.

Best regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent couple of days in Annecy and we had a great time. The city is amazing and it is in on a cost of a beautiful lake. You can also rent a little kayak/boat or the peddling boat and swim around. I also recommend renting a scooter or a car and going for a ride around the like and into the mountains - the landscapes are simply breath-taking. The hotel is basic, but clean and quiet. The room we had was small, with a bed that was hidden in a wall (never seen something like that before) ;-O The wifi was free for hotel guests. The biggest advantage is the location, you're literally minutes walk from canals and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff really helpful and friendly.
The location is good, center of Annecy. The price off season is really reasonable(74 euro for a room with king size bad, kitchenette with all the nncessary tools and bathroom). Good if you travel in a small family with a baby. Very quiet.
The breackfast is a bit poor and costs 8 euro, so don't bother.
Wifi is available and Free.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal

Address: 9 rue Royale, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Royal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apparthotel Privilodges Le Royal is an apartmenthotel with 52 apartments, located in the heart ofAnnecy and the historic quarter, only 600 feet from thelake. It offers air conditioned studios for 1 or 2 personsand one bedroom apartments for 1 to 4 persons, fullyequipped with kitchen area, fl at screen satellite TV,direct telephone line, free access to the Internet, freeWiFi, bathroom with bath and individual safe in theroom.Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or outside onthe terrace overlooking the park and the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.