We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue de la Poste, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Annecy
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was very nice - only an 8 minute walk to 'old town'. The breakfast was delicious. The friendly owners were very helpful. They showed us many places on the map to visit and made dinner reservations at their favourite restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    183
    40
    6
    1
See reviews for
65
152
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because the previous I booked was only available for a night. And it was the relight choice. Nice local hotel and good location. Staff very friendly. But be careful, no elevator. Our room was on the 4 floor but we are young :) so it didn't give us any trouble. Even though the room was a bit small, the hotel have a certain charm that erase everything else. Oh, for the parking, they have an agreement with the Parking de la poste. They offer you the parking fee from 19h to 8h.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This two-star hotel is very centrally located, just across from the railway station, and thus very convenient if you are arriving by train; and the attractive old town area is only a few minutes away. The welcome was friendly. There is no lift, but the Manager and (English-speaking) reception staff were helpful in schlepping our luggage up to the second floor.

Modestly priced, rooms are on the small side, as is to be expected in a town centre hotel of this nature, but are attractively furnished, clean, and comfortable enough. Free WiFi is available.

The breakfast buffet is fairly basic but adequate enough, although – given the abundance of lovely fresh fruit and berries on offer on market stalls in the old part of the town – tinned fruit salad was a bit of a turn off.

Tip: for those keen on Japanese food, there is a good Sushi Bar just opposite the hotel, and which also does take-aways, including baguettes, drinks, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed one night in Annecy recently and chose the Hotel des Alpes based on reviews here. It was just a few hundred meters from the Railway station and Bus station which was really handy.(you can see the hotel across the road on your left as you go out of the station) The reception is on the first floor and there is no lift but the stairs are OK (first flight concrete then squeaky floorboards :) We got one of the smaller rooms which was OK for one night. I did go around with the receptionist and had a look at some of the other rooms the next day as they were vacant - and they were bigger. Very clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable, albeit a bit small as we are used to bigger beds. The shower was nice with a good flow, they offer soap and shower gel/ shampoo in the bathrooms, but I did not try these. I did not see a hairdryer - but then again I did not need one so I might have overlooked it. The staff was very helpful and talkative.
Even though the hotel is very close to the station- It was surprisingly quiet at night - we could even have the window open.
From the hotel we went walking around first in the more shopping area on the same side of the lake and then over to the tourist bit in the old town. It was all very beautiful - with cobbled stone streets everywhere - I recommend flat shoes!! Check out was 11.00 which suited me fine. I was allowed to leave my bag at the reception whilst I did some more sight seeing on the last day. So if you need a cheap place to stay in Annecy - this should be your first point of call - definitely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 2-nights in Annecy and selected Hotel des Alpes based on travel book & Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel location (close to old city, restaurants, cafes & shopping), our room, the buffet breakfast, and our hosts were all to our liking. Our room (326), even though street-side & facing the train station was very quiet. I do not speak French and our hosts would always try to teach me how to say our room number in French and heartily congratulate me when I got it right - they were lots of fun.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so this could prove to be an issue for anyone with a disability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

good value. very clean, nice rooms. location is very convenient walk from old town - service very friendly plus hotel pays for over night car parking in local car park.

only downside really is that the breakfast was too expensive

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic value hotel in a great location for the centre of the lovely town of Annecy, would definitely recommend.
Family of 4, 2 kids under 10. We stayed in a family room with 2 nice, comfy beds pushed together as a double and 2 other single beds, clean, good bathroom and plenty of space. They speak a fair bit of English and there's free wifi. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and good value, my only minor gripe being coffee from a machine and no fresh milk (just my pet hate with France...), but I've had that same gripe at hotels twice the price!
No evening restaurant, I'd recommend the short walk down to the old town for choice as it's a little limited immediately around the hotel.
Things to bear in mind, there's steep stairs and no lift and although it's fantastic if you're coming by train, if you come by car (as we did) Annecy's one way system isn't the most logical! There's a drop off parking spot right outside though and free overnight underground car parking only a block away (2m height restriction), but that car park's pricey during the day, the manager kindly directed us to cheaper nearby alternatives for the day, but not a problem if you're going out to the many great places nearby!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: 12 Rue de la Poste, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Annecy
#3 Business Hotel in Annecy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.