We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for touring Annecy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue de la Poste, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Wendell MA
1 review
“Great location for touring Annecy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean and nicely located close to lake and the old town and also just a block away from train and bus station. Staff friendly and helpful but not invasive. Room is compact but comfortable and sufficient. Everything works well. Cost is reasonable, and the breakfast (extra charge) a good value.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with 3 windows and a balcony. We liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    179
    39
    6
    1
See reviews for
64
147
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here in early June and were impressed with the location. Come out of the hotel, turn left and it's a straight 5 minute walk to the old town and lake, which seem to be where all of the restaurants and bars are.

The hotel itself is above a row of shops so you have to go upstairs to the reception area. This could be a bit of an issue if you have a baby. We were able to leave our pushchair in the groundfloor hallway. The room was basic with a small shower/WC area behind a sliding door, but if you're in Annecy you're more likely to be out and about so we weren't too fussed. The wi-fi connection in the hotel was free and very good.

Please note that given the central location, parking is an issue. The hotel have an arrangement with a local underground car park which is a few minutes walk away, but there is no parking at the hotel, other than to drop off and pick up passengers and luggage.

Room Tip: If walking around Annecy, DO NOT follow road signs when looking for the lake (Le Lac). You'll b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This small hotel is conveniently located near the train station and within a short walk of the Old Town. For those arriving by car (like myself), there is public underground parking 1 block away. It's free to park overnight (with a coupon from the hotel), but parking during the day costs about 1.10 euro/hour if I remember correctly. I had a corner room which was rather large (for this type of hotel) and well lit by several windows. A breakfast buffet is served in a cozy room adjacent to the front desk and is well worth the additional cost. There were ample selections of breads, cereals, fruits, cheeses, meats and beverages. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of bags or difficulty with stairs I recommend you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very comfortable and clean rooms, and incredibly affordable for a family of 4. The staff was competent although not warm or welcoming. But for budget accommodations for a family we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I headed over to Geneva for work and then had the opportunity to stay an extra day so headed down to Annecy. This was my first good decision. Annecy is stunning. The next was to stay at Hotel des Alpes. As a solo traveller the room, location, warm welcome by the staff were all just perfect. It's just a few minute walk to the Old Town. Parking was easy as the hotel has an agreement with the Poste Parking Garage. And the room with simple but aesthetic and very, very clean. I just loved it. Then ... the decision to go biking ... rent a bike!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I read so many great reviews about this hotel here that I booked it for my two night stay in Annecy. Great location...small but CLEAN. No elevator, which was the only drag, but I was on the second floor so it wasn't too bad and the receptionist took it down the stairs for me when I checked out. It's in a great location, also--walk to everything. Highly recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean and modern. Our room was good sized and large by European standards, including by my standards. The owner or manager and his staff were very friendly. He was particularly helpful on some driving routes. The hotel is in an upscale area of town and virtually across the street from the train station. This may sound like an oxymoron but both are true. It is also close to the old town and the lake, so it is convenient for everything. We don't know why it is rated 2 star, probably because there is no lift. It is as good as or better than several 3 star hotels we stayed in. My wife and I are senior citizens and didn't view this as an issue. We only stayed here one night. This was not enough for Annecy as Annecy is a beautiful town on a beautiful lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: 12 Rue de la Poste, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Annecy
#3 Business Hotel in Annecy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.