We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue de la Poste, 74000, Annecy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

You only have to cross one street in order to to get to the hotel from the train station - extremely practical. Historic center is a 5 minute walk, and the lake a 10 minute walk (very pleasant walk by the way). Staff was very helpful. As for the rooms, as soon as we walked in we could feel that it the room was very clean. We had a room for three, and there was enough space for everyone to walk around freely. Breakfast was buffet, loved it, very good quality for the price (8 euros). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location (right near the train station, two minutes from old town), great room (modern Ikea kind of feel, with charm), great price. Added bonus: there's a luggage room, so you can store your bags and spend a few extra hours walking through the city (especially if you accidentally miss your train!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatifitworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had a pleasant seven night stay here. The rooms are modest, clean, and comfortable. The staff is competent and helpful . The breakfast is a reasonable value at 8 Euros.
The location is great. The hotel is only a block from the train and bus stations. It is just a short and pleasant stroll to the old town, canals, and the lake.
A kettle or coffemaker in the room would be an improvement.
On a return to Annecy, I would stay here.
In summary, it was fair price for nice place in a safe and convenient location.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ithacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The service is great and room is clean and comfortable, the location of the Hotel is great so it is a great spot to walk from and view the city.
The staff is very helpful and the room have some great recommendation for restaurants. When you consider price paid and location of this hotel it cannot be beat I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johannes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We chose this hotel looking for value for money and after researching Tripadvisor. We knew there was no lift so we were not upset about this. The room was on the small side but was very clean and comfortable. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and gave us advice about where to eat (see review about La Cuisine des Amis). The breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate. Just on the outskirts of the old town the location was spot on. The one way system takes a little getting used to, but this is not the fault of the hotel which is very close to the bus and train stations. If looking for a small, stylish, budget hotel then this hotel is spot on. The only drawback we found is that we sleep with a window open and there is a lot of noise from the street below which seems to go on late and then start again early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank high_miler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed staying in this hotel. Room was on the smallish side (which you can expect from an old building) but very clean. Staff spoke good English & were very nice & helpful. We declined the room on the fourth floor as the stairs were narrow & steep but managed one on the second, It still took a bit of puffing & panting, but that's my fault for being overweight & unfit, not the hotels. There's no lift so a no go if you're disabled. Other than that,decor was lovely, breakfast was average & better than some. Close to the old town. Good value for money. Ideal if you want a few days in Annecy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#1 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#5 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#8 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: 12 Rue de la Poste, 74000, Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Annecy
#3 Business Hotel in Annecy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Alpes 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Alpes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing