We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful town, we should have paid a little more for a better hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Icone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Icone Hotel to your Saves list
Icone Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Faubourg des Balmettes, 74000 Annecy, France (Formerly Kyriad Annecy Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful town, we should have paid a little more for a better hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a room on the 3rd floor and there is no lift. It overlooked a side street and was gloomy. The shower had a curtain and while drying off I managed to knock the rail off its mounting points. The TV allegedly had one channel in English, CNN, but the signal was screwed up. Location is brilliant, being on the edge of the old town with its pedestrian-only areas. Probably one of the nicest/prettiest French towns that I have stayed in. Our friends stayed in a hotel that overlooked the lake and had spectacular views. Good choice of excellent restaurants nearby

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icone H, Responsable réception at Icone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
dear customer,
first all thank you for expressing your opinion.
the building (16th century) in which is located the hotel makes very difficult lift facility,
also welcoming all our guests in the 1st floor. regarding the shower and tv, we don't have any justification and hope we will oportunity to welcome you in better conditions.
your opinion is important to us, it makes us improve. thank you.
the front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Stayed here on two different occations and would recommend this hotel for anyone needing to stay close to the city centre for a reasonable sum. Breakfast is the "Buffet" type, where the selection is based mainly on French cuisine (croissants, yoghurt, sweet stuff). One of the rooms (bigger one for 3+ persons) is located closest to the street and holds a high standard. Newly refurbished, quiet and with AC. For the second stay we had one of the older rooms, where the bathroom was older and where you had to take a shower in a bathtub. All in all a good hotel, but there is room for improvement of bathrooms. Clean and tidy, comfy beds. Personnel speaks English, huge advantage for non-French speakers.Wifi didn't work on either of the stays we had, but is free to use.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had a slightly scary start to our stay. We'd booked this hotel hen it was the Kyriad, and arrived to find that reception had no record of our booking for 3 rooms - all fully paid for. However, without any fuss, the staff sorted this out in an efficient, if not very friendly way.

The hotel seemed to have an odd atmosphere. It wasn't very welcoming and seemed, despite Annecy being super busy, to be empty. However, our rooms were ok - clean, basic and functional. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but there was AC and the hotel is in a very good location on the edge of the old town.

Parking is in a secure, public, underground car park (Sainte-Claire) just a short walk up the street. It cost £14 for 24 hours parking, which seemed reasonable.

All in all, it was an ok stay and worked as a one night base on our way back to Geneva airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Staff: very helpful and kind / location: very good / my room and bathroom were clean and spacious / bed: ok / breakfast : ok /
but, there is no lift. If carrying your bag in the stairs is a problem , this nice hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were very pleased to stay at Icon Hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and the rooms and bathrooms were a good size compared to many French hotels in old buildings. There was AC and the rooms were non smoking. The beds were also comfy compared to many beds you will find at a three star! The pillows and comforter was also nice. There was free wifi but had trouble getting it to work in the rooms although it worked fine in the lobby. Reviews say to come early or the parking would be full and they are not joking! We had to find and pay for street parking as the hotel parking was full. The location cannot be beat as it is situated at the beginning of the street that morphs into an amazing market each day. Aside from the market the old streets twist and turn with their cobbles leading you to many clothing shops, gelato shops, restaurants, wine stores, cheese shops, souvenir shops, specialty shops, and leads you to the canals. It is very picturesque, rich in history, and quaint. The lake is very close, as well as the old castle above you. All can be reached within a couple minutes walk. We couldn't have been more happy staying here and recommend it!

Room Tip: We had two different rooms between the four of us and we were pleased with each. If you prefer quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights and the location is tremendous at the head of the pedestrian street,
staff confused our reservation, did not have the balcony room ordered, but it is clean. they need new beds as the mattresses were worn out.
would not be a repeat customer here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent location – just by the entrance to the old city and about 5 minutes’ walk from the train/bus stations.

No visible signage of the hotel, recognised the distinct stone wall from the photos. Looks quint from the outside, not so much inside.

Spotty Wi-Fi in the room - iPad works iPhone doesn’t. Not quite luggage friendly - narrow staircase, & no lift. Small room and even smaller bathroom, but clean and functional. Pretty responsive by email. Breakfast was additional to the room rate, but don't bother. Absolutely delicious croissant/ buns/ pastries from the little pastry shop just round the corner.

For the price paid, it was decent enough for a night’s stay in Annecy.

Sunday market in the old city was delightful, colourful, fresh and tasty fruits, pastries and everything nice..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Icone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icone Hotel

Address: 1, Faubourg des Balmettes, 74000 Annecy, France (Formerly Kyriad Annecy Centre)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Icone Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Icone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.