We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one night, we were happy with our choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Savoie

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Savoie
1, place Saint Francois, 7400 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“For one night, we were happy with our choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Hotel de Savoie certainly has character. It is very central and we pre-booked a room with a view over the canals. We were on a budget, carrying backpacks and were wanting a decent bed and our own bathroom facilities. With a car, we had to park, find the hotel, go back to the car to move it to the parking building then take our luggage over the road to the hotel. Booking directly with the hotel via email was hassle-free. The room was quaint and the bed was comfy and, for one night, we were happy with our choice. If we were staying in the area for longer we would look around again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    7
    25
See reviews for
3
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We booked to stay here before Christmas for a few nights. As soon as we saw it we demanded a refund, it was awful! Totally dated & covered in scaffolding, it was like a building site in the reception area. We couldn't believe it was even open!! No apology was offered, we were simply told that we wouldnt be sleeping the reception so why did it matter. The room was totally awful - seriously suggest people stay elsewhere! We went to the hotel Splendid which really was splendid!

  • Liked — The location was great but nothing else was worth staying, horrid!!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We were actually booked in another hotel (4 stars), but due to overbooking we were relocated in Hotel de Savoie (2 stars) without possibility not to accept, as our stay would have been charged to our credit card anyway.
We were informed that the hotel was "charming" and did not realise that in France "charming" or "lovely" very often means that if you are bohemian and romantic you might like it. Dirt is not a no-no in France and adds to the charm. We had an absolutely horrible room, tv not working, beds like in a camp and in front of the hotel a Karaoke event until 01:00 followed by drunk "charming" french. Price of the room: 120 Euro!!!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

The room we had was very French, sort of basic and charming.
Being on a corner, the room had two windows, each affording a different beautiful view. Thrilling, especially at night.
Hotel de Savoie ticks all the right boxes...clean, comfortable, friendly, well-located, interesting building, good breakfast., value for money. Waht more could you ask for?

  • Liked — The stunning views
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

I stayed at the Hotel de Savoie for one week in August. The hotel couldn't be in a better location. It is right in the center of town close to the lake and all the activity. The rooms were nice and clean. Some have a beautiful view of the canal. The staff is exceptional. Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay at the Hotel de Savoie the next time I am in Annecy, France!

  • Liked — The people
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

A friend and I decided to take a little tour of France over our winter break. I did all the hotel research and booked all of our stays. This was supposed to be our little splurge place. It was not worth it. For all of our other hotels, I researched and cross checked extensively- for Annecy I did not and I regretted it.

We stayed in a non-canal facing room, one of the less expensive ones, and we had a lovely little balcony...which overlooked the dumpsters in the alley. I think perhaps as young American students, the hotel staff gave us the worst room in the place, the very first room on the first floor, quite literaly three steps from the reception desk. In the morning we heard every single other hotel guest come down the stairs and into the reception room for breakfast. I've heard that you should never accept the first room they offer you in Europe- I never had that problem in any of the other places I stayed on our trip, but for this hotel, I wish I had had the guts to speak up and get my money's worth! To add insult to injury the room was very poorly decorated with old beding and ugly cheap looking oriental lamps. I found several hairs in the bed which were not mine or my friends. On the other hand, the bathroom looked like it had recently been renovated and it was rather spacious, nice, and clean.

I suppose I would have to sum up this review by saying that I would not advise other travelers to stay in one of the cheaper rooms in this hotel- either go for the canal room or find another place. And under no circumstances accept that first room on the first floor!

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

Just returned from Hotel de Savoie in Annecy. The hotel is in a great location and had a wonderful view looking onto the canal and market area; however, was quite noisey in the morning with garbage and street crews.

Rooms were average, with a distinctive sewer odour coming from the bathroom. The phone was not in service, and the sheets and comforter were stained. We had a great time in Annecy, however, would stay at another hotel for our next stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — sewer odour
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Savoie

Also Known As:
De Savoie Hotel
Address: 1, place Saint Francois, 7400 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Savoie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel de Savoie to your Saves list