We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but pricey for what it is” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Savoie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Savoie to your Saves list
Hotel de Savoie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, place Saint Francois, 7400 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service but pricey for what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel, our room had a view of the Canal which was nice, however the downside of this was that we were kept awake half the night with the sound of rubbish going into bins from the restaurants that surround the hotel (both at night and first thing in the morning). Admittedly we had the window open (as it was very hot, no AC) and had to use ear plugs to sleep! The room was very basic and the hotel itself is very dark and dated. On the plus side the manager was excellent and offered a secure underground car park for the night for our Motorbike (which was free). Breakfast was fair, nothing special and not much choice (a Croissant, bread and a few Jam's). It was quite pricey at 79 Euros plus breakfast.

Good service from the staff but overpriced and quite dated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    12
    9
    28
See reviews for
4
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

At arrival we've been told that the room we booked is not available, and we've been offered a worse room for the same price. The second day in the morning we negotiated to change the room to the one we booked, but it took the whole day to make it happen (we left the key at 9 am and got the new one at 5 pm, and then it took another 3 hours to arrange the cleaning/make-up of the room).
The hotel staff says everything will be arranged, while does nothing for that.
The rooms are dirty, the furniture is very old, there were no single hook to put a towel in the bathroom, and it seemed that some renovation there has started, but never finished.
It was hot, and the hotel has no any air conditioning, but if you open a window, a lot of noise comes from the street (which continues all the night since the hotel faces one of the main squares of the city).
The only advantage of the hotel is its very central location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Hotel de Savoie certainly has character. It is very central and we pre-booked a room with a view over the canals. We were on a budget, carrying backpacks and were wanting a decent bed and our own bathroom facilities. With a car, we had to park, find the hotel, go back to the car to move it to the parking building then take our luggage over the road to the hotel. Booking directly with the hotel via email was hassle-free. The room was quaint and the bed was comfy and, for one night, we were happy with our choice. If we were staying in the area for longer we would look around again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We booked to stay here before Christmas for a few nights. As soon as we saw it we demanded a refund, it was awful! Totally dated & covered in scaffolding, it was like a building site in the reception area. We couldn't believe it was even open!! No apology was offered, we were simply told that we wouldnt be sleeping the reception so why did it matter. The room was totally awful - seriously suggest people stay elsewhere! We went to the hotel Splendid which really was splendid!

  • Liked — The location was great but nothing else was worth staying, horrid!!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We were actually booked in another hotel (4 stars), but due to overbooking we were relocated in Hotel de Savoie (2 stars) without possibility not to accept, as our stay would have been charged to our credit card anyway.
We were informed that the hotel was "charming" and did not realise that in France "charming" or "lovely" very often means that if you are bohemian and romantic you might like it. Dirt is not a no-no in France and adds to the charm. We had an absolutely horrible room, tv not working, beds like in a camp and in front of the hotel a Karaoke event until 01:00 followed by drunk "charming" french. Price of the room: 120 Euro!!!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

The room we had was very French, sort of basic and charming.
Being on a corner, the room had two windows, each affording a different beautiful view. Thrilling, especially at night.
Hotel de Savoie ticks all the right boxes...clean, comfortable, friendly, well-located, interesting building, good breakfast., value for money. Waht more could you ask for?

  • Liked — The stunning views
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

A friend and I decided to take a little tour of France over our winter break. I did all the hotel research and booked all of our stays. This was supposed to be our little splurge place. It was not worth it. For all of our other hotels, I researched and cross checked extensively- for Annecy I did not and I regretted it.

We stayed in a non-canal facing room, one of the less expensive ones, and we had a lovely little balcony...which overlooked the dumpsters in the alley. I think perhaps as young American students, the hotel staff gave us the worst room in the place, the very first room on the first floor, quite literaly three steps from the reception desk. In the morning we heard every single other hotel guest come down the stairs and into the reception room for breakfast. I've heard that you should never accept the first room they offer you in Europe- I never had that problem in any of the other places I stayed on our trip, but for this hotel, I wish I had had the guts to speak up and get my money's worth! To add insult to injury the room was very poorly decorated with old beding and ugly cheap looking oriental lamps. I found several hairs in the bed which were not mine or my friends. On the other hand, the bathroom looked like it had recently been renovated and it was rather spacious, nice, and clean.

I suppose I would have to sum up this review by saying that I would not advise other travelers to stay in one of the cheaper rooms in this hotel- either go for the canal room or find another place. And under no circumstances accept that first room on the first floor!

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Savoie

Address: 1, place Saint Francois, 7400 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Savoie 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Savoie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Savoie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.