We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull annecy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Splendid Hotel to your Saves list
Splendid Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, quai Eustache Chappuis, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderfull annecy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we were a family , we stayed 3 nights, every thing was good exept some rooms in the hotel was not very clean , the location was exellant , facing the lake. annecy is an ideal place to injoy in your vacation . i loved it , i would like to be there every time i would have a chance.

Room Tip: always choose the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    183
    52
    8
    2
See reviews for
87
224
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 1 night while traveling by train through France for 25th wedding anniversary. Easily walkable from gare and perfect location for strolling through town and to Lake Annecy. Nice place to slow down the pace of the trip and enjoy some great sights. Staff was friendly and room was fine for the night...several nights would have been fine too.

Room Tip: Lakeside was nice for our 1 night there, may not be necessary for more nights since it is an easy wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located right on the lake in the old part of town, making it a good tourist spot. The rooms are clean, spacious, and well-equipped. I did not like the fact that the walls were fairly thin as I frequently heard people talking outside in the halls, moving around in the room above me, and one morning was awoken by hammering at 5:30AM. The staff are friendly and helpful and the free Buffett breakfast is very nice with a good spread. Free Internet is available, but weak wifi connections.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After reading through the Tripadvisor reviews I decided to give the Splendid a try. It turned out to be one of my all time favourite hotels. I regret I could only spend 2 nights!

The hotel is an easy walk from the train station. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and I was in my room in no time. It was unexpectedly large, separated into a vestibule, the room itself and a big en suite. I had booked a room at the front and I was glad I did as there was a very nice view out towards the lake. There was a lot of cupboard space, an easy to use safe, a bed I slept really well in and tea and coffee making facilities. The decor was not flash but nice all the same. Although on a fairly busy road I was not disturbed by any noise. Wi fi is available although I used the free computer on the 1st floor.

Very minor adverse comments are that the lights were a little too dim and I needed the assistance of the diagram to get the shower working! There is a spa bath.

Maybe breakfasting at the hotel is a little more expensive than going to one of the many nearby places, but it is served in a spectacular breakfast room, has an excellent selection and of course allows you to eat as much as you like. The woman serving breakfast was delightful and helpful. Overall I think the Splendid hotel is good value for money. It certainly didn't break the bank to stay there.

Annecy is a pretty place. The hotel is in an excellent location. Turn right out the front door and you are virtually in the old town. Go left and you are in the shopping district. Out the front is the beautiful lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view toward the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
375 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

That is a pretty hotel in front of the lake and very near the old center. Our room was large, confortable and with lake's view. The breakfast was good but not included in the rate, this is the normal in French hotels.

Room Tip: rooms face the lake are more pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cloud, Fl
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of european hotels and this one ranks high on the list. The location was near everything, the room was large, the bed and pillows were very satisfactory and the bath was a nice size with a tub and shower. The staff was friendly. Nothing negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel Splendid is a nice hotel situated in a strategic position. It is on the lake and 2 minutes - walking distance- from the centre. Close by there is a parking, the hotel usually pay the night rate.
The room are nice, clean, comfortable, nothing of stunning, but for a 3 star is ok. the breakfast is a little bit expensive - 13euros- so I suggest you to go in a good coffee shop and to have a wonderful croissant!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#1 of 43 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.9 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#10 of 43 in Annecy
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#5 of 43 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Seynod
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#15 of 43 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel

Address: 4, quai Eustache Chappuis, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annecy
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#3 Family Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional situation: Heart of the city, shores of the lake.Just in front of the lake of Annecy and in the heart of the historic and commercial part of the city, the situation of our hotel is one of the best in the whole town.With its 47 rooms renovated in april 2015, our establishment proposes quality services in a unic and authentic environment.For touristic or business stay, seminars and groups,our teams are at your disposal to insure a high quality service.Relaxing week-ends, holidays, business trips,seminars or work sessions, lunch or dinner cocktails, our establishment can satisfy all your expectations thanks to its numerous possibilities. With a view on the lake or on the old town, all our rooms, large and recently renovated, offer free high speed internet connection, minibar, LCD screens, hair-drier and air conditionning with individual thermostats. Particularly comfortable, our exclusive rooms as well as our Junior Suites offer courtesy trays, bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Splendid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.