We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a pretty face” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Imperial Palace

Save Saved
You added L'Imperial Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Imperial Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Allee de l'Imperial, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel with a pretty face”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First impressions as one approaches this hotel is "wow". The building is glorious and the setting by the lake is lovely. The interior of the hotel has been modernised which doesn't really match the outside. Our room was a little tired and smelt of cigarette smoke, but we opened the windows and let in the breeze coming off the lake and all was forgiven. It's a shame about the casino which takes up part of the hotel, but I guess they have to make money somehow, so we forgave them that as well. Loved the location and our daily walks by the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Director of sales & marketing at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Madam,

Further to your recent stay at L’Impérial Palace****, we thank you for having taken some time to give us your impression.

Since its re-opening in 1990, the hotel has chosen a contemporary style which is appreciated both by our business travelers as well as our leisure guests.

Despite the hotel being 100% non-smoking, according to the French law in force since January 1st 2008, we do apologize for the smell of smoke in your room and we have informed the Head Housekeeper and her team to be more vigilant.

For information, the Casino, together with the Congress Center, share with the hotel the same building.

With the pleasure in welcoming you again at L’Impérial Palace.

Yours sincerely,

Ghislaine BLAMPEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    93
    60
    41
    29
See reviews for
45
146
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Checked in en route to the alps for a break in the journey and to explore annecy. We had to take 2 connecting rooms on the top floor and had amazing views if the lake and town. Large rooms but let down by the decor and layouts, also starting to look a little warn. Ate in the restaurant and the service was awful. Food was also poor. Children's food burnt or badly prepared. Main meals sounded good on the menu but did not live up to the description. Poor presentation and flavours.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghislaine B, Responsable commercial at L'Imperial Palace, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Further to your recent stay at L'IMPÉRIAL PALACE****, we would like to thank you for having taken some of your precious time to give us your feedback, in order to help us in our quality improvement programme.

Concerning the rooms, we inform you that all our 99 rooms are being renovated and the whole restoration should be finished in 2013. We have made the choice to do it step by step in order to minimize the inconvenience which might be caused by the noise.
We have taken note that you did not like the decor of your room, which is not luxurious as our main clientele is orientated business and conference

We are deeply sorry to hear that the food and service in our main restaurant, La Voile, which has been awarded with a "3 forks" range in the Michelin guide, did not live up to your expectations. We have of course informed our Executive Chef and the restaurant Manager.

We do hope to have the pleasure in seeing you again,

With best regards,

L'IMPÉRIAL PALACE (Hôtel**** - Congress Center - Casino)
Sales & Marketing Department
Ghislaine BLAMPEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A great old style hotel with big bright airy rooms and beautiful views over the lake. Big balconies too. Bathroom great as well. The restaurant was busy and the food was good though quite expensive but normal for a four star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here in 2012, had a huge room, three sided terrace with lake view, absolutely magical. Tiny noise problem from park next door but generally great place to spend holiday. Food, service and general ambience fantastic.......will return....

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This could be an absolutely amazing hotel. The building is stunning and has a wonderful location on the bank of Lake Annecy. Service was, in general, very poor. There was only one staff member, the male host at the restaurant, who provided excellent customer service. The rooms are very outdated, in desperate need of a modern makeover. The Internet is terrible and logs you out about every 15minutes or so. Overall, a beautiful setting although needs a massive overhaul to make it five star.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A huge edifice standing at the end of Lake Annecy that incorporates a casino and conference centre. The public rooms are not particularly impressive and are more conference centre than grand hotel, though the dining room and its terrace must be lovely in summer. The bedrooms, however, are spacious, well equipped and extremely quiet and comfortable. Staff were helpful and unfailingly polite.This place is not cheap but where is in this part of France? Great base for touring the stunning countryside nearby.

Room Tip: Facing the lake but expect to pay a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel should be magnificant, but it's just ... odd. It's a sort of art deco hotel which has a 1970's feel to it. The room was comfortable - a one bedroom suite, but the layout not particularly comfortable, and the furniture not welcoming. The food was average for breakfast and lunch.

BUT ... the setting is absolutely "to die for" right on the lake with a small park and view of the moutains. For this alone I would stay there again, but I dearly wish this hotel would be taken over and brought up to the standards it deserves.

Room Tip: get a view of the lake or don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Imperial Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Imperial Palace

Address: Allee de l'Imperial, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Imperial Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your L'Imperial Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Imperial Palace Hotel Annecy
l Imperial Palace Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Imperial Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.