We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent value and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located and offers great value for money. The staff are very friendly and efficient and this created a very good first impression. The rooms are not big, but very clean and modern and we very very comfortable. Even though our room overlooked the street, it was very quiet because of the excellent glazing (certainly more than double!).
The location is superb; you can easily get to all main parts of the city and to the lake in about 15 minutes. Parking is Ina nearby underground car park. You can pull up outside the hotel to unload your luggage and the staff then will give directions to the car park. The hotel also pays for the parking between 7pm and 8am. You just pay for anything outside of those times.
We didn't stay for breakfast so I can't comment on that..
I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    158
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
222
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff could not have been more charming, friendly and helpful.
Hotel spotless. Rooms small but adequate. Only downside, no lift, but manager cheerfully helped us up to our third floor room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a canal view but even street view rooms are silent because of triple glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had an awesome stay in this hotel. This hotel is located close to all attractions in Annecy. 5/10 mins max - you will reach a tourist spot. Small, very clean hotel with a balcony. Balcony has a very good view. Hotel staff was very helpful. A big difference when compared with the hotel in Paris. Breakfast was decent. Note that -there is no lift. That's the only let down. Hotel staff helped carrying all our luggage to the rooms in second floor. But it was a pain, when we carried down during check out. Otherwise, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

only stayed (2) nights and didn't utilize housekeeping much so i can't really comment on that

PROS
- close walking distance to the train station (5 min walk!) lake, restaurants, shops, etc.
- wooden floors
- front desk ppl were very helpful

CONS
- small room
- uncomfortable bed (but clean)
- no elevator butour bags
- street noise

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The fellows who run this place seem to genuinely enjoy their work. They were always helpful, cheery and welcoming. The old part of Annecy is close by, and the lake is an easy walk. The room we had was decently large by European hotel standards, and the bathroom was updated. If you are a light sleeper, or like to keep your window open at night, I strongly recommend getting a room away from the street. The Saturday night crowds can be noisy, and the buses often stop by the front of the hotel. That was the only concern we had with this excellent property.

Room Tip: Get a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Decent hotel and centrally located--walk to train station and lake easily. My single room was tiny and on the street side, which can be loud. TV worked. Bed was small but OK.

Breakfast was decent for 7 euros. Hosts were helpful. But be warned, there is no elevator, so you'll have to climb at least one flight of stairs.

Room Tip: Single rooms are probably on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were traveling by train, so we wanted a hotel by the station. The Hotel Alexandra is less than a five minute walk from the train and bus station in Annecy. The hotel is also very close to the lake and the old town. The location is very convenient. Unlike many of the the TA reviewers we never met the owners, but became very familiar with the hotel manager. He is very welcoming and helpful. He gave us restaurant recommendations and offered to make reservations for us. He gave us a brief overview of the area pointing out highlights and directions. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for 8Euro per person that is well worth the price. The buffet is a typical European breakfast buffet with cold meats, cheese, yogurt, cereals, breads, croissants, juice and coffee. Although it is very nice to be sure this is a 2 star hotel. No elevator, no A/C, no in room safe or mini-refrigerator. However, there is an in room water heater to make tea or instant coffee. The rooms a clean and typically European small in size. There is very little storage space, so fully unpacking is unlikely. The bathroom is also very small with no tub and a shower reminiscent of something from an old cruise ship. Although the hotel has installed double doors/windows pedestrian and traffic noise can be a problem for street side rooms.

Room Tip: Try not to get a street facing room and remember there is no elevator, so you have to carry your lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Cotta,

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, the quality of our services and hospitality of our team.
In fact, we took a few days off after the summer so we have not had the opportunity to meet you.
Have you stayed in a standard room. Next time, do not hesitate to book a superior room or suite that offers a size and comfort.
Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you next time.

Nicolas and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Annecy
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#4 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Hotel is ideally situated 300m from the lake, 200m from the railway station and the entrance to the old town. Personalised hospitality, family atmosphere and the charm of the place, all add to the comfort of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.