We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic clean and well located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Basic clean and well located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The 2 star rating is because of the available facilities, not the quality of this hotel which is great. Basic but clean and in a fantastic central location adjacent old Annecy. Within easy walk of everything. Car parking is offsite a 100 metres or so away at additional charge, and we were given poor directions to the parking, besides that couldn't fault the place. Exceptional value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    179
    24
    7
    0
See reviews for
47
253
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is well located for the train station and the old quarter, although the signs to it are a bit misleading! The room was fairly small but ensuite with a balcony, and the staff were friendly and helpful in giving advice about the town. Breakfast isn't really worth 8 euros. overall it was a good, well priced hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Beautiful North
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, within 5 minutes walk of the lakeside and the old town, restaurants, etc and also about 5 minutes walk to the train station. Yet it's not in a noisy location, which is a bonus.

The service here was the best we experienced - arriving late from the train station, the multi-lingual staff checked us in quickly and had taken our heavy luggage upstairs to our room without us even asking !

Breakfast/ reception area was very clean and stylishly decorated. We hadn't booked breakfast, but we tried it the first morning and ate it every morning after - good quality Continental breakfast, with a nice selection of food and teas, etc.

Staff were very helpful and professional, assisting us when we wanted to find various facilities nearby.

As with many budget hotels in older European buildings, there is no lift, and the rooms are small. Furthermore, the walls are a bit thin. We had a problem with people talking loudly in the next room late into the night. However, we mentioned this to the staff in the morning and there were no further problems.
Although there is no lift, the stairs were quite wide, and not as steep as similar hotels I've stayed in. Having said this, it's not really suitable for people with limited mobility.

Overall it's a good hotel, but probably not for those who are light sleepers or have limited mobility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is close to the lake and the bike friendly lake path. The canal view really isn't much, next time we would not want to spend the extra money for it. The location is great, not too near the old town, but close enough that you can easily visit andrequrn.

Room Tip: Do'nt bother with the extra cost for the canal view, it isn't much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo,Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early October. This was our second stay at The Alexandra. The hotel is perfectly located downtown, is very clean, and affordably priced. The owners were on vacation during the time we were there and we definitely missed their outstanding service. Some rooms have a canal view and are worth the extra cost in my opinion. Annecy and the towns along the lake were lovely as usual!

Room Tip: Canal view is great if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Close to town, like others have said rooms are very small, a great budget hotel. Be aware there is no lift in this hotel. Staff were accommodating but not overly helpful. Didn't take breakfast as it seemed overpriced. Rather went to Le Peche Mignon just a couple of streets from the hotel and had amazing pastries and coffee and hot chocolate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton england
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This time I stayed with a travel-mate and as they didn't have a twin-room available on the first floor, they gave a family room at the same price - with a small reduction as we stayed 10 days and I had stayed with them before.

This hotel couldn't be more convenient for everything in Annecy - shopping, eating, the railway station, boat trips, the bus station and all the sights of the town.

The staff are fantasically helpful and welcoming to every guest, with no request being too much trouble for them. Rooms are furnished in a minimalist style but, I don't need to pay for armchairs and carpets! If I had one small criticism it would be that, being of larger build, there is very little space in the toilet areas of the bathrooms so, if you need wriggle-room, you might need to work on your suppleness before staying there!
Next year, they hope to add 5 more rooms on the First Floor and move Reception/Breakfast Room to the Ground floor, where they have acquired more space. As the hotel is more often full than not, I am glad that more people will be able to stay there and enjoy Annecy.
Since my visit in Sept last year, the hotel has been given a Tripadvisor Certificate, which they have framed and is now proudly displayed in Reception. The recognition is rightly deserved and is testament to the way in which the owners, Patrice and Nicolas, and their team regard and treat every guest, as though they are the most important person in the hotel. If you need help with luggage - there is no lift as the building is listed - there is always someone to carry cases up or down the stairs for you.

Breakfast is Euro 8 per person but you can eat all you want and the food is of high quality. The hot drink machine is one of the best and even I as a non-coffee drinker, was impressed with the cafe au lait! If you need eating-out suggestions, the staff keep a book with customer recommendations in it. Try L'Arcade in the old town!

Please go to Annecy which is utterly beautiful and do enjoy the hospitality at the Alexandra Hotel! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: I stayed in rooms on the first floor and the double glazing keeps all noise out from the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#1 Family Hotel in Annecy
#4 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Hotel is ideally situated 300m from the lake, 200m from the railway station and the entrance to the old town. Personalised hospitality, family atmosphere and the charm of the place, all add to the comfort of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.