We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, great view of the square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, great view of the square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is close to the lake and the bike friendly lake path. The canal view really isn't much, next time we would not want to spend the extra money for it. The location is great, not too near the old town, but close enough that you can easily visit andrequrn.

Room Tip: Do'nt bother with the extra cost for the canal view, it isn't much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    166
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
233
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo,Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early October. This was our second stay at The Alexandra. The hotel is perfectly located downtown, is very clean, and affordably priced. The owners were on vacation during the time we were there and we definitely missed their outstanding service. Some rooms have a canal view and are worth the extra cost in my opinion. Annecy and the towns along the lake were lovely as usual!

Room Tip: Canal view is great if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Close to town, like others have said rooms are very small, a great budget hotel. Be aware there is no lift in this hotel. Staff were accommodating but not overly helpful. Didn't take breakfast as it seemed overpriced. Rather went to Le Peche Mignon just a couple of streets from the hotel and had amazing pastries and coffee and hot chocolate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton england
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This time I stayed with a travel-mate and as they didn't have a twin-room available on the first floor, they gave a family room at the same price - with a small reduction as we stayed 10 days and I had stayed with them before.

This hotel couldn't be more convenient for everything in Annecy - shopping, eating, the railway station, boat trips, the bus station and all the sights of the town.

The staff are fantasically helpful and welcoming to every guest, with no request being too much trouble for them. Rooms are furnished in a minimalist style but, I don't need to pay for armchairs and carpets! If I had one small criticism it would be that, being of larger build, there is very little space in the toilet areas of the bathrooms so, if you need wriggle-room, you might need to work on your suppleness before staying there!
Next year, they hope to add 5 more rooms on the First Floor and move Reception/Breakfast Room to the Ground floor, where they have acquired more space. As the hotel is more often full than not, I am glad that more people will be able to stay there and enjoy Annecy.
Since my visit in Sept last year, the hotel has been given a Tripadvisor Certificate, which they have framed and is now proudly displayed in Reception. The recognition is rightly deserved and is testament to the way in which the owners, Patrice and Nicolas, and their team regard and treat every guest, as though they are the most important person in the hotel. If you need help with luggage - there is no lift as the building is listed - there is always someone to carry cases up or down the stairs for you.

Breakfast is Euro 8 per person but you can eat all you want and the food is of high quality. The hot drink machine is one of the best and even I as a non-coffee drinker, was impressed with the cafe au lait! If you need eating-out suggestions, the staff keep a book with customer recommendations in it. Try L'Arcade in the old town!

Please go to Annecy which is utterly beautiful and do enjoy the hospitality at the Alexandra Hotel! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: I stayed in rooms on the first floor and the double glazing keeps all noise out from the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights in room 2, at the end of August 2012. I arrived expecting a good budget hotel, and it was a good budget hotel but there were as many bad points as good. The good stuff:
- Great location; literally in the middle of town
- The price - one of the cheaper places in Annecy
- The room was really quaint; double aspect windows with flower pots hanging. The communal breakfast room is also really nice
- The staff were great - friendly and helpful
- Internet access is included, though we couldn't get this to work on our phones. They also pay for parking overnight

The bad stuff:
- We stayed in one of the smallest rooms (room 2), and as an indicator of size, there wasn't room for a bedside table on either side of the bed. I couldn't sit on the loo without resting my shoulder on the sink! If you're bigger than a UK size 14, I doubt you'd fit in the shower.
- Our towels smelt of parmesan. I also made the mistake of smelling the pillow, which I wouldn't recommend
- The location comes with a price - our room was outside a very busy bus-stop, and as it was warm we had the window open all night, which meant it was very noisy. The double glazing was excellent though, couldn't hear much with it closed (but no aircon)
- Not suitable for anyone with mobility issues due to the number of steps and distance from the (public) car-park.
- Breakfast isn't included and is expensive at 8euro per person (for what it is - though it was nice enough)
- Overall, the room could have been cleaner. Feet were black after walking around without shoes on for example

Stay here if you're small/skinny, able-bodied, don't like to spend too much on accomodation and value location, price and friendly/helpful service over everything else.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalexandra74, Propriétaire at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give is your reviews on your stay in our hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location, the quality of our hospitality and value for money.

Regarding cleanliness, know that it is our top priority and we spend a lot of time to ensure the best excellent service for our guests. The number of positive opinions about this is also a great reward for our team.
You talk about a problem with your towels smell, it is regrettable that you have not reported to us, we could make the change immediately! Know that our laundry is washed by a company and we did not have other worries so far, it was probably an exceptional problem.
The floors throughout the facility are vacuumed and disinfected every day.

We hope your return trip went well and you keep good memories of your stay in Annecy.

Yours sincerely,

Nicolas, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Much like all other reviewers have said, we just loved this little place in gorgeous Annecy.
Small rooms, yes. Stayed with our 2 teenage children in their family suite which is essentially 2 rooms, one with queen and other with a bunk bed. They had their own shower and sink. Showers are VERY small so don't drop the soap. So what. Great location, friendly staff and inexpensive. We had their breakfast for 8 Euros pp. Simple, plain but suffices and for the price of croissants and coffee on the street, it works out to a pretty good deal even though paying 32 Euros for 4 people for breakfast sounds a little steep.

Nothing fancy of a place but totally adequate for our needs. If you are looking for 5 Star, stay somewhere else. If you want clean, practical, great location, friendly staff and inexpensive ... this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Although this has got to be the smallest room we have ever stayed in, tiny even by French standards, we loved it! The owners were extremely gracious, welcoming, & helpful. The room and hotel were clean and modern, plus it was so close to absolutely everything. So when you add in the fact that we paid less than $100 a night, we felt like we were getting a grand bargain.

It's true sometimes you want to spoil yourself and get that 4 or 5 star room for a few nights so that you can immerse yourself in luxury for your vacation, but other times you want to save your money for other things and just feel like you're getting a great deal at a great place. With what you get for the price at Alexandra, you will feel like you're getting that deal. And not just because it's inexpensive, but because the staff and the hotel make you feel like you really want to stay there. This hotel was just the perfect place for our 3 nights in Annecy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: 19, Rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Annecy
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
#4 Best Value Hotel in Annecy
#4 Business Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandra Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Hotel is ideally situated 300m from the lake, 200m from the railway station and the entrance to the old town. Personalised hospitality, family atmosphere and the charm of the place, all add to the comfort of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.